Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Doctor Who: Time Clash – Starter Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Absolute value" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeremy Cooper
United Kingdom
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state:

When a Tech is played, its player may push or pull any other card in the same stack whose absolute value is equal to or less than the Tech’s absolute value. a pushed card is placed at the bottom of its stack. a pulled card is placed at the top of its stack, even above the Tech that triggered the move.

By "absolute", do they mean total value of the stack? And if so, does this include the Tech card played on that turn? I'm pretty sure "absolute value" doesn't refer to a card by itself. So then "Tech's absolute value" would mean the sum total of just the Tech cards in that stack. Does this mean that the card to be moved has to be equal to or less than the sum total of the Tech cards?

Ultimately though, what difference does the position of the card make? How does it affect the scoring counter, which only represents the sum total of cards on a particular arc, regardless of their position?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Harper
United Kingdom
Wantage
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Absolute value means the number when you ignore whether it is a + or a -.

So -300 has a higher absolute value than +200.

And more specifically, if you play a tech card of -300 that means you can push or pull any + card up to +300 and any - card up to -300. (And the same applies if you swap the + and - signs in that last sentence.)

As for what difference the position makes, remember that in the endgame, it is the cards at the end of the stacks that are used in gambits, and also that pulling a plan to the top may allow the next play to be a plan that cancels it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Luckus
United States
Edgerton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
polyobsessive wrote:
Absolute value means the number when you ignore whether it is a + or a -.

So -300 has a higher absolute value than +200.


The mathematical equation would look like this |-300| > |200|

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.