Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Axis & Allies Pacific 1940» Forums » Rules

Subject: Western United States IPCs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael H
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There are two circle IPC numbers, 10 and 50, in the Western United States. I assume the 10 is for when the United States is not at war and the 50 is for when the United States is at war. The question is does the National Objectives bonuses of 30 for controlling Western United States get added to the 50? The same question applies to the 5 IPC bonus for Alaska/Mexico and 5IPC bonus the Pacific Islands?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It sounds like you're mixing editions here. Only the 1st edition map has the additional 50 IPC value, but the National Objectives you describe come from the 2nd edition.

In any case, in the 1st edition, the extra 40 IPCs indicated by the 50 IPC marker come from an National Objective in the 1st edition rules. In the 2nd edition, the National Objectives are different; there are more of them and the amount for Western United States is smaller (30 IPCs).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael H
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you Kevin, that was exactly the problem. So if I interpret your explanation correctly, a common turn's worth of IPC for the United Sates at war would be:
Western United States 30 IPC
Alaska 2 IPC
Mexico 2 IPC
Hawaii 1 IPC
Bonus for Western US 30 IPC
Bonus for Alaska and Mexico 5 IPC
Bonus for Pacific Islands 5 IPC

Total 75 IPC

Is this interpretation correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Western United States is worth 10 IPCs, so the income level would be 55 IPCs in the 2nd edition.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael H
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That you, that answers my question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Pelletier
United States
Goffstown
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Hi, recently we played a game and Japan attacked the US on the very first turn. Does USA get the war bonus IPC immediately or after their first turn is over?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It receives the one-time bonus payment of 30 IPCs (2nd edition only) immediately. National Objective IPCs are not received until the Collect Income phase of its turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.