Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

A Handful of Stars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combat vs Aliens rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Swoo Swoo
msg tools
Example 1
Let's say I send a scout fleet to a neutral system.

The base Alien is 7 and the revealed alien token is 7.

So:
Aliens 14 combat.
Me 3 combat.
Combat track is on 11 Defender.
I decide to bring 3 additional fleets with dreadnaughts on reserve and spend 1 matter.

Aliens 14.
Me 15.

Aliens are defeated and I lose 2 fleets, right?

Example 2
I send 5 fleets to a neutral system.
Alien base 7 and alien token 7 for a total 14.

I lose 0 fleets and aliens are wiped, right?

Example 3
I send 4 fleets to a neutral system and I have dreadnaughts on reserve.
Alien base 7 and alien token 6 for a 13 total.

I lose 2 fleets and aliens are wiped, right?

Ty.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Noakes
United Kingdom
Redhill
Surrey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Why are you losing fleets in example 3?

(4x3)=12+2(dreadnoughts)=14.
14-13 (aliens)=1.

"You now calculate the difference between these two totals and place the Game marker on the Combat Track to show this difference and whose favour it is in, i.e. who’s ahead on combat points."-->takes place after taking Mines/Dreadnoughts into account.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Swoo Swoo
msg tools
Weloi Avala wrote:
Why are you losing fleets in example 3?

(4x3)=12+2(dreadnoughts)=14.
14-13 (aliens)=1.

"You now calculate the difference between these two totals and place the Game marker on the Combat Track to show this difference and whose favour it is in, i.e. who’s ahead on combat points."-->takes place after taking Mines/Dreadnoughts into account.


I forgot that bit (I read the rules when I pre ordered and I only had a quick look through during my first play/learning game) . Those passives are automatic, check.
Ty.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.