Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Rise of the Runelords – Base Set» Forums » General

Subject: Which Base Set? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
MICHAEL MCGUIRE
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am brand new to this game and want to purchase it. Which base set is the best one to get?
Thank you.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Warnken
United States
Harrison
Ohio
flag msg tools
I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
badge
Happy grandfather!!!
mbmbmbmbmb
Depends on what you want.

Rise of the Runelords: Standard RPG classes. It has the least scenario variety.

Skulls and Shackles: Pirates, guns, and ships. Ship mechanics feel a little clunky.

Wrath of the Righteous: Early scenarios are difficult. Characters get real powerful later when they get mythic powers.

Mummy's Mask: Most thematic set IMHO. Scenario variety is quite high.

My ranking:
Mummy's Mask
Rise of the Runelords
Wrath of the Righteous
Skulls and Shackles
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Freelance Police
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Whichever is on sale!

Also, Paizo has an occasional holiday sale. Picked up several PACG expansions at half off. Free shipping at $100, though. B&N had PACG base sets at a deep discount as well. See you on the Hot Deals forum!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Ahearne
United States
Ayer
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mundane wrote:
Depends on what you want.
My ranking:
Mummy's Mask
Rise of the Runelords
Wrath of the Righteous
Skulls and Shackles

Obviously, this is extremely subjective.

I liked the ship mechanic in S&S just fine.
Many people would rank S&S above Runelords.

Looks like the only downside to MM is it may be too easy.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
gary gee
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb