Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: How to understand "domination"? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mikołaj Maliniak
Poland
flag msg tools
I have a problem with understanding the rule 10.1.1 Domination. Could someone explain me how I should understand it?

In the rule book there is written that to achieve Domination a Superpower has to control "more non-Battleground countries and Battleground countries in a region".

In the player aid Domination means: "control more countries and more Battleground countries int the region than player"

In my view the two above-mentioned rules are contrary to each other.

For example: A USSR player controls 1 non-Battleground country and 2 Battleground countries, a US player controls 1 non-Battleground and 1 Battleground. According to the rule book USSR does not achieve domination (1:1 non-Battleground countries) and according to the player aid USSR does achieve (controls 3 countries and US only 2 and 2:1 in Battleground).

Do I miss something?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Wallace
United Kingdom
Northampton
Northants.
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

The living rules from GMT website http://www.gmtgames.com/living_rules/TSRules2nd.pdf state it as follows -

"Domination: A superpower achieves Domination of a Region if it
Controls more countries in that Region than its opponent, and it
Controls more Battleground countries in that Region than its opponent.
A superpower must Control at least one non-Battleground and
one Battleground country in a Region in order to achieve Domination
of that Region."


If there is a reference to "more non-Battleground countries" in your rules then it appears to be a typo.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikołaj Maliniak
Poland
flag msg tools
Thank you very much!

It means that the delux edition (september 2016) rule book has a typo. whistle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Koen
Belgium
Rotselaar
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Domination:
1. Control more BGs than opponent
2. Control at least one non-BG
3. Control more total countries than opponent (BG and non-BG together)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Wallace
United Kingdom
Northampton
Northants.
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

It's probably worth pointing out that the requirement to control at least one non-battleground does not apply to the criteria for "Control" of the region, strange as it may seem.

" A superpower has Control of a Region if it Controls more
countries in that Region than its opponent, and Controls all of the
Battleground countries in that Region. "

Only just realised this when looking at the rules there and checked through other forum threads dealing with this.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Woods
Canada
Victoria
BC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's a good point Bill. I've had Control of a region just by holding all BG's and no non-BG and its thrown off my opponent due to the discrepancy with the Dominsation rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.