Jonathan Coveney
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's say you start the GT and own MS. MS lays two tracks west. You have no legal route. The 2 doesn't run. Then the GT operates. Can it buy the MS, get the 2... in the rules, it says that a 2 can't run twice in one whole OR, but this 2 hasn't yet. Could you then run the 2 from MS in the first OR of the game?

Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nikolas Co
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Rule 6.61 and 6.69, along with "Private Company Abilities" (on pg 12) of GMT rules (section 3 of DTG) simply states that it can't be run the round it is acquired. If its owner failed to run it, that's unfortunate.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hardeep Sidhu
Canada
Surrey
BC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No.

From page 12 of the GMT rulebook (Private Company Abilities):

"A corporation purchasing an Independent Railroad must not be at
the train limit; may not pay its owner more than its list price (do
not include debt); and cannot run a route with the Independent
Railroad’s train that round
."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damian White
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Jonathan,

A company can only runs trains it had at the start of the OR. So a company cannot run any trains it purchases in the OR in which it purchases them.

This is specifically addressed in 6.61 of the rules:

NOTE: An Independent Railroad's 2-train may not be run by its owning corporation on the round that the Independent Railroad was purchased.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Coveney
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks all! Love this game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.