Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Blood Rage» Forums » Rules

Subject: Destroy all but one figure card clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kyle Grindling
United States
Royal Oak
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmb
I played for the first time the other day and one of the other players had the card reading "before comparing str, all players destroy all but one figure" he kept losing the battles allowing him to keep the card and wipe everyones army out. Is that correct? would the strategy there be try and let him win the battle so he loses the card? thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Holman
Sweden
flag msg tools
Fixxxer76 wrote:
I played for the first time the other day and one of the other players had the card reading "before comparing str, all players destroy all but one figure" he kept losing the battles allowing him to keep the card and wipe everyones army out. Is that correct? would the strategy there be try and let him win the battle so he loses the card? thanks

That is correctly played. It's a good strategy if you want chaos.

You can either make him win or play a Thor card (can't remember the name) that guves you glory for the strength of the cards and then forces everyone to pick new cards after discarding the first picks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gert Meyer
Denmark
Trekantsområdet
flag msg tools
badge
Skål - Cheers - Gom Bui - Prost - Almien - Salut - Kampai - Na Zdrowie - Gan Bae - Qapla
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The card is there to counter piling up an unbeatable stack of doom. So don't overload a Province unless you are going to lock it down.

It's not free for him either. He's losing at least one Figure every time he loses a Battle, even if he keeps his card.

Also, there is Heimdall's Watch and Thor's Primacy which will counter the effect of Odin's Tide. The former will even cause it to be discarded.

If he's smart, he will use Odin's Tide to trick you into trying to lose a Battle and throw in a different card for a cheap victory. So trying to lose on purpose can also be risky.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrik
Germany
Dresden
flag msg tools
gert74 wrote:
(...)It's not free for him either. He's losing at least one Figure every time he loses a Battle, even if he keeps his card.

And most importantly, should the winner have his axe stat raised, he/she will gain a significant amount of glory, which determines the winner. And of course the winner gets the pillage reward, no matter if only one unit is left.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thaddeus MacTaggart
Netherlands
Almere Buiten
Flevoland
flag msg tools
badge
Blood Rage fan - Raven Clan
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bolm wrote:
gert74 wrote:
(...)It's not free for him either. He's losing at least one Figure every time he loses a Battle, even if he keeps his card.

And most importantly, should the winner have his axe stat raised, he/she will gain a significant amount of glory, which determines the winner. And of course the winner gets the pillage reward, no matter if only one unit is left.

Indeed. He doesn't get any glory from it.

Now if you use this card + fire giant + buy back card for 1 rage + Heimdall +3 card .. it could be pretty powerful.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Marshall
United Kingdom
York
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is why I love this game.

There's always a counter, always an out - you cannot be 100% prescriptive.

You play the other players at least as much as the game, using the resources at your command. You may know what you want to do, but what the others do may (or may not) prevent that.

You have to think on your feet, first and foremost, in this game.


Teowulff wrote:
Bolm wrote:
gert74 wrote:
(...)It's not free for him either. He's losing at least one Figure every time he loses a Battle, even if he keeps his card.

And most importantly, should the winner have his axe stat raised, he/she will gain a significant amount of glory, which determines the winner. And of course the winner gets the pillage reward, no matter if only one unit is left.

Indeed. He doesn't get any glory from it.

Now if you use this card + fire giant + buy back card for 1 rage + Heimdall +3 card .. it could be pretty powerful.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.