Ned Ludd
Canada
Surrey
BC
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Please, help.

I have 259 counters.

MMP wrote:
After producing the game, we realized that the number of
troop counters provided in the final version was occasionally a
little too limited for game play. As a result of this, we have de-
cided to add more troop counters to the game.

Unfortunately, we did not have time to print up new sheets
of just troop counters, so we are adding an extra Countersheet
#1 to each game.

This means there will be extra counters that
are in the countermix which do not belong in the game.

Please remove 4 Gunners, 2 Welsh Archers, 2 English
Archers, 2 English Knights, 2 French Chavaliers, and 2
Burgundian Knights. Additionally, all 1 0 Mercenaries on the
duplicated countersheet should be removed.

Please consider
keeping these 2, counters in the event yours wear out from
over use, but they must not be considered part of the game
and are not part of the countermix (i.e., their use during game
play is limited by the countermix).

Do I need to separate

4 Gunners,
2 Welsh Archers,
2 English Archers,
2 English Knights,
2 French Chavaliers, and
2 Burgundian Knights

... for the total of 245

BGG wrote:
The rules state that there are 189 counters.

The first printing had a duplicate of the first counter sheet so there were 259 counters
(40 were duplicates of limited tokens).

... or do I need to remove 40 for the total of 219? But which 40?


...but

BGG wrote:
The second Printing included a half sheet of troop tokens for a total of 224 counters.
(The half sheet contained 15 1/2, 10 3/4, and 10 5/6 strength troop counters)

.. or 224 counters. Then which of the 259 need to be removed?

Is there a list somewhere with the counters that ARE in the game?

Thank you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iain K
United States
Arvada
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Hey Ned,

Let me see if I can clear up the confusion. As your quoted posted says, to ensure the game had enough copies of the basic manpower counters, MMP included TWO copies of counter sheet #1

So, you should have

(a) two copies of each counter on counter sheet #1:




That having been said, the "duplicate" gunner, archer, knight, mercenary, turn, and king counters from counter sheet #1 are NOT used in play (and they may have been discarded by your game's previous owner). Put another way, only use the bottom three rows (and the top row if desired) from the second copy of counter sheet #1.


(b) one copy of each counter shown here (counter sheet #2):




and
(c) one copy of each counter shown here (countersheet #3):




I hope this helps clear things up.
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Ladson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To make things even more confusing, I just traded for a copy of this and in the box was a note from MMP that there should be three full countersheets and one half countersheet. It's all there but what a pain to properly inventory. God bless Legion wargames that includes graphic sheets of what the counters look like pre-punched.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Davis
United States
Laguna Niguel
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Rules keep referring to FOUR mercenary counters per mercenary area. I only have x2 1-strength counters for each mercenary area. Is this a mistake in the Rules or my counters?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Borchers
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I replied in your other question, but there's an official clarification that there are two mercenary strength points (not four) for each of those areas. The rules were wrong. The additional countersheet that was included for the players to have additional markers in the first printing added to the confusion as the players seemed to receive more mercenaries than they needed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iain K
United States
Arvada
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
This is an error in the rules. As posted in another thread here on BGG:

"Section 16.1 incorrectly states "In each of the five neutral areas, place the four mercenary troops for that area." The correct number per area is two."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls