Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Unicrave question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Orlando Sarduy
msg tools
mb
Just looking for a clarification on this base ability:

Before this base scores, replace it with the top card of the base deck. Keep all cards on it, discard this card, and keep scoring.

From our understanding, we are replacing Unicrave with the first card from the base deck, placing all the cards on Unicrave on the new base, and continuing to score, regardless of the new base breakpoints.

One person thinks we place the played cards from Unicrave on the new base drawn, but we adhere to the new base breakpoints, so for example if Unicrave currently has 19 points on it causing it to break, the new base drawn has breakpoints of 25, it would not score since the played cards = 19.

I am arguing that the new base would score since the card states to keep scoring after the replacement of the base.

What is the verdict, folks?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Young
United States
virginia beach
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Your first one is correct, once a base is in scoring it stay's in scoring mode. So just because the base has changed and the break point is different, the "base" was already scoring and it is still scoring.

Same thing would happen if you move or destroy a minion on a base that is currently scoring, just because you now have less power than needed doesn't stop the base from scoring.

[edit] also how was this in question, it says exactly what to do on the card XD Keep scoring is written right there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Orlando Sarduy
msg tools
mb
Thanks for the fast reply and have another question...

If someone played Ninjas Infiltrate action on Unicrave and the base begins the scoring process on the Ninja player's turn, they can rightly ignore the base's ability, thus making the base score nothing for all players as opposed to replacing and players scoring some points based on the newly drawn base?

The thought of this card just came to mind as a way to neutralize the random scoring nature of Unicrave.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Young
United States
virginia beach
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Yes, that would be the case as well. That could be a really cruel thing to do! Love it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lasher Mayfair
msg tools
It is important to note that Unicrave is a special case. It keeps scoring only because it specifically says so.

If the base is changed during scoring for any other reason, scoring of that base ends (but may start again right away if the breakpoint is still reached).

You can read the official answer here: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22359274#22359274

But, as I said, Unicrave is a special case, the answer I posted above does not apply to it. The base that replaces Unicrave continues scoring, even if its breakpoint is no longer reached.


As for Infiltrate, this specific card is rather weird, so be careful about how you use it.

If you use Alien Jammed Signal ("All players ignore this base's ability.") the ability is cancelled no matter who's turn it is.

Infiltrate, on the other hand, only allows the ninja player to ignore the bases ability. Since it is the current player who replaces the base, that means for infiltrate to work, Unicrave would have to break on the ninja player's turn. So if the Ninja player puts Infiltrate on Unicrave, and breaks it on the same turn, he has the choice of whether to replace it as normal, or to keep it and have every player score 0 VP. Such a situation would be rare though. If the ninja player broke the base on his turn, it usually means he is the one winning the base, and thus usually means he wants the winner to gain VPs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.