Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Undimensioned and Unseen: Damage bonuses? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brandon H
United States
Orion Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I tried this in the U&U forum but wasn't getting a response.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Must damage to Broods come directly from the Esoteric Formula? Or do damage bonuses to Esoteric Formula attacks still apply, such as Zoey's Elder Sign ability (actually, her ability might be the only current possibility for a bonus)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Pitying fools as hard as I can...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
We played that the damage had to come from Esoteric Formula. It seems pretty clear from the reading of the card. Side note: one thing we noticed is that the Broods are not Elite, and we killed one by having Daisy cast Mind Wipe (https://arkhamdb.com/card/01068) on it then having Zoe auto kill it with her cross (since both the damage restriction *and* the extra HPs are wiped out for the phase).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B.D. Flory
United States
New York
flag msg tools
If an effect modifies your attack, such as by adding +1 damage, it doesn't matter what the source or target of the attack is. Nothing prevents the target mentioned from taking more than one damage in an attack. Zoey's elder sign procs normally.

I can think of two other ways to apply a damage bonus to this attack:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
If you run Carnevale of Horrors as a side mission, you can use Bauta to use your Combat for Esoteric Formula's Willpower test, which allows you to commit vicious blow.

If you play the variant at the back of the Zealot campaign guide where you continue a new campaign with the same deck, you can apply Lita Chantler's damage bonus to the Esoteric Formula attack as normal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mighty clever, Chris !

That brood FORGOT that it was invulnerable.

However, Daisy's trick also takes away your victory point.

And if Agenda 3 was not current, the brood would be reshuffled into the encounter deck to reappear later !!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.