Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Commands & Colors: Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: Leader in close combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marius n Milan BGGs
South Africa
Stellenbosch
flag msg tools
New at this game, and something I do not seem to find clearly in the rules or FAQ: a leader with attached HI unit is being attacked. The attacking units (no leader involved) only hit on the Heavy/Red symbol, NOT the leader symbol, correct?
Any clarity appreciated, thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Grrr
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct, plus the crossed swords for hand to hand.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marius n Milan BGGs
South Africa
Stellenbosch
flag msg tools
Thank you Carl, appreciated.
Gracchus did not escape death though, one turn later the inevitable caught up with him...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Grrr
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, lots of ancient leaders died in battle. That said, in this game its absolutely critical to get your leaders in the right place and get the most out of the general hit bonus for adjacent units. My first moves are usually moving generals to ready for attacks to come (of course, that also flags your intent!).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kent Reuber
United States
San Mateo
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Leader symbols would only hit if the leader was alone in the hex.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note in particular that leaders benefit ADJACENT units as well as the unit that they are attached to.

So they don't always have to be in the front line and exposed. And they can--potentially-- give their bonus to up to seven different units.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Reeve
Switzerland
St-Légier
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Looking for a game session in Switzerland? Send me a pm!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that if a unit which a leader is attached to takes hits, the leader must roll two dice : if 2 helmets cime out, he is dead.
If the unit was wiped out, he would roll only one die : if a helmet comes out, he is dead.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.