Blake Curry
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My buddy just picked up this game and we gave it a go last night. While playing, we had to deal with a drone deck enemy whose effect was "all players kill a character after defeating." Well, that's actually good because we love to be able to thin out our decks, after all.

However, what it didn't say is where that character was. Does it have to be one actively in our hand but that we have yet to play? Does it have to be in the Discard pile? Can it be either of those two? I assume it can NOT be a card that is in your hand that you have ALREADY laid down and played, and I assume it also can NOT be a card still in your draw deck, as it would be unfair to be able to go through that. This is how we played it, and we obviously opted to chuck out a grunt or specialist from our discard pile. But that may be erroneous, so here we are.

Also, and unrelated, what a terribly organized game. It's like they went out of their way to make sure setup took longer for the first play. Maybe it was a printing error but the cards game organized in an absurdly unhelpful manner. Anyway, that's just a small observation and it didn't keep us from really enjoying the game, once we got it going.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GodRob
United States
Culpeper
Virginia
flag msg tools
While primarily used for killing vampires, a wooden stake to the heart is also highly effective against most other opponents.
badge
Everybody wants to be a Game Designer but nobody wants to be a Game Designer.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is covered on page 14.

If a card says to kill “one of your characters”
you can kill a character in your hand or one
you’ve already played this turn. If you kill one
you’ve already played this turn, you still get
to use the Recruit Points, Attack, and special
abilities the character produced, including
“Once this turn” abilities. It also still
counts for the purposes of triggering another
card’s Class or Crew ability.


So, "no" from the discard but "yes" from played this turn.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blake Curry
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
robertg611 wrote:
This is covered on page 14.

If a card says to kill “one of your characters”
you can kill a character in your hand or one
you’ve already played this turn. If you kill one
you’ve already played this turn, you still get
to use the Recruit Points, Attack, and special
abilities the character produced, including
“Once this turn” abilities. It also still
counts for the purposes of triggering another
card’s Class or Crew ability.


So, "no" from the discard but "yes" from played this turn.


Okay, thanks. We flipped through the book but as the initial setup already took so long we were starting to get pressed for time. Fortunately, this changed nothing about our victory, as we killed Grunts from our discard pile, but we also had played Grunts that very turn. I suppose technically the roommate getting to do it as well meant he had one extra grunt on his turn to spend, but I as recall that was a "recruit only" round for him anyway, so it still worked out.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Comstock
United States
Scotts Valley
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are right about org difficulty for first time setup - completely confusing, even if you've previously played the Marvel version. I had to print out a card list with groupings from BGG before I could figure it out, so you guys did better than me! Is super fun though, once you figure it out and store the cards in an org'd manner. Set up is fast after that.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.