Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

IKI» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you buy winter fish in new year phase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dsd
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
it doesnot clarify in rule book-- it tells you you can visit any square of the 8. there is no point of the fish square if it is not possible also it is part of winter??
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Williams
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dsdjpofjs wrote:
it doesnot clarify in rule book-- it tells you you can visit any square of the 8. there is no point of the fish square if it is not possible also it is part of winter??


I would say you can.

It wouldn't be completely useless depending on the workers in the stalls.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emspace
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Dsdjpofjs wrote:
it doesnot clarify in rule book-- it tells you you can visit any square of the 8. there is no point of the fish square if it is not possible also it is part of winter??


The rules for New Year’s Day round say (page 7):

On your turn, your Oyakata may stay where it is or jump to any space on Main Street. Once there, you may do business as usual with the shop and/or one of the professionals (occupation cards).

So yes, that would include the Fish Market. Not sure why that needs to be clarified.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Williams
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
emspace wrote:
Not sure why that needs to be clarified.


Because clearly someone didn't understand.

What part of Wheaton's Law needs to be clarified for you?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Deena Pilgrim
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dsdjpofjs wrote:
it doesnot clarify in rule book-- it tells you you can visit any square of the 8. there is no point of the fish square if it is not possible also it is part of winter??


Yes, you can buy winter fish in new year turn (if it hasn't been bought yet).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Lautenbach
Netherlands
Amersfoort
NL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Excuse me, but are you sure of this? At the end of December there will be a Payday, and after each Payday the rules say to remove any leftover fish. So on New Years Day there might not be any fish left? I am using the rewritten rules from the Files section.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Deena Pilgrim
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes I'm sure. At the begin of summer, autumn and winter you remove the fish tokens of the previous season and place the new season's ones.
But it is clearly written in the original japanese rulebook, in the "new year round" chapter, that for the New Year round, you keep the fish token(s) on the board.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Lautenbach
Netherlands
Amersfoort
NL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can't beat reading the Japanse rulebook . Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.