Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Axis & Allies Europe 1940» Forums » Rules

Subject: Duplicative R&D Breakthroughs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Alden
msg tools
Let's say hypothetically that a country has already achieved several R&D breakthroughs and wants to get another. It rolls some number of paid-for "research dice," gets one or more 6's, and per the rules (p. 40), "you have successfully made a technological breakthrough." The country then chooses one of the two breakthrough charts, but when it rolls a single "breakthrough die" to determine which breakthrough it gets, the die roll indicates a breakthrough which the country has already achieved. In this case, does the country roll that single breakthrough die again (and potentially multiple times) until it hits a breakthrough on that chart that it has not already achieved, thus guaranteeing it some kind of breakthrough as a result of having gotten one or more 6's on its initial "research dice" throw? Or is the country simply out of luck -- it has duplicatively developed a breakthrough which it already had, and thus receives no fresh breakthrough whatsoever, despite having gotten one or more 6's on its initial "research dice" throw? I would be interested in knowing if there is a generally accepted rule of construction in such cases, and in particular whether the game designers have ever indicated their intent. The rulebook does not make it clear.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say:
Quote:
If you roll an advance that you already have, roll again until you get one that you don't have.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.