Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Dune» Forums » Rules

Subject: A question about summoned worms rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kai Cruz
msg tools
badge
The Ultimate Kwisatz Haderach?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the original rules (thru the player shield) it's only mentioned that Fremen can ride worms when it appears on their territory: "If a worm appears in a territory where you have tokens, they are not devoured but, immediately upon conclusion of the nexus, may move to any territory on the board (subject to storm and occupancy rules)"

But several other rulebooks mention that the Fremen can actually direct a worm even if not in Fremen territory:
[Starbase Jeff]: "Additional worm cards drawn do not signal another Nexus, but each additional worm which appears after the first may be placed by the Fremen player in any territory he wishes. These additional worms may also be ridden by the Fremen, but will only devour tokens/spice located in a sand territory. Worms never devour tokens in the destination territory."
[WBC 2016]: "When more than one worm is drawn for a given spice blow, the Fremen may send the additional worms to any territory on the board."
[Ilya77 aka consolidated rules rewrite]: Fremen control Worms that result from Shai-Hulud Cards being discarded over other Shai-Hulud Cards. The Fremen Player may make this Worm appear in any Territory (of any Terrain type) he wishes. The Fremen may also Ride this Worm.

All of the rulebooks also say that tokens at the destination of a "worm ride" are not devoured, but how about a non-ridden worm's destination?
[Starbase Jeff]: "These additional worms may also be ridden by the Fremen, but will only devour tokens/spice located in a sand territory. Worms never devour tokens in the destination territory."
[WBC 2016]: "When the Fremen rides a worms, tokens and/or spice in the destination space are not eaten."

So, basically my 2 questions are:
1. Is this a generally accepted house rule in the Dune community?
2. Can a directed but not ridden worm devour at its destination?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Johnson
United States
Crystal Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Answered in the other thread.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tempus42 wrote:
Answered in the other thread.


Which is where?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joy Cohn
United States
Stockton
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
tempus42 wrote:
Answered in the other thread.


Which is where?


Yes. To which thread are you referring, sir?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Garbett
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Will Provide Statistics for Data
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I just did a search and this was the first hit: https://boardgamegeek.com/article/26036478#26036478
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.