Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Blood Bowl (2016 edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Turnover rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David G. Cox Esq.
Australia
Lighthouse Beach
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Do what you can, with what you've got, where you are.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a player fails to pick up the ball, the ball scatters and is picked up by a teammate, is it a turnover?

How about when the teammate knocks it back to the original square and the first player successfully catches it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
steven smolders
Belgium
Heist-op-den-Berg
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
badge
Love to play boardgames with my family and spending time toghter
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
i belive in both situations it's not a turnover
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Spruce
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually I think both are turnovers. A failed attempt to pick up the ball is a turnover regardless of where the ball ends up.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David G. Cox Esq.
Australia
Lighthouse Beach
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Do what you can, with what you've got, where you are.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Optix47 wrote:
Actually I think both are turnovers. A failed attempt to pick up the ball is a turnover regardless of where the ball ends up.


That is my belief as well.

The rules say if you fail to pick up the ball there is a turnover.

After the failed attempt to pick up the ball it then becomes a series of attempts to CATCH a bouncing ball.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Βραδύπους Ένα
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A failed catch is not necessary a turnover. If an adjacent teammate catches the ball is not a turnover.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David G. Cox Esq.
Australia
Lighthouse Beach
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Do what you can, with what you've got, where you are.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
vradipous1 wrote:
A failed catch is not necessary a turnover. If an adjacent teammate catch the ball is not a turnover.


That is true when there is a pass. Is this also true of picking up a ball, which is a different action?

What do the rules say?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
steven smolders
Belgium
Heist-op-den-Berg
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
badge
Love to play boardgames with my family and spending time toghter
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mmm i after reading rules about picking up and bouncing and trowing the ball
If it's a pick up and it fails it's an turnover but the ball bounces and it has to be picked up if it bounces in a square with a non stunned player until it's picked up or bounces into an emty square.
So if a teammate picks it up it still is a turnover

If it's a trow and picked up by a teammate after dropping it's not a turnover.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Hall
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wolverine1977 wrote:
mmm i after reading rules about picking up and bouncing and trowing the ball
If it's a pick up and it fails it's an turnover but the ball bounces and it has to be picked up if it bounces in a square with a non stunned player until it's picked up or bounces into an emty square.
So if a teammate picks it up it still is a turnover

If it's a trow and picked up by a teammate after dropping it's not a turnover.


That's how I've always understood the rule.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Βραδύπους Ένα
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
da pyrate wrote:
vradipous1 wrote:
A failed catch is not necessary a turnover. If an adjacent teammate catch the ball is not a turnover.


That is true when there is a pass. Is this also true of picking up a ball, which is a different action?

What do the rules say?
oh sorry, I thought you said it was pass. Yes it's turnover.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Price
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
It is pitch black.
badge
You are likely to be eaten by a grue.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
alienux wrote:
wolverine1977 wrote:
mmm i after reading rules about picking up and bouncing and trowing the ball
If it's a pick up and it fails it's an turnover but the ball bounces and it has to be picked up if it bounces in a square with a non stunned player until it's picked up or bounces into an emty square.
So if a teammate picks it up it still is a turnover

If it's a trow and picked up by a teammate after dropping it's not a turnover.


That's how I've always understood the rule.


This is correct. The distinction between picking up a ball, which you only do if the ball was stationary and a player moved into its space, and catching the ball, which is what happens any time the ball is moving (even if it scattered from being on the ground and stationary) is the operative part of the rules here. As people have mentioned, failing a catch does not cause a turnover by itself. Failing a pickup always does.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.