Conflict of Heroes: Eastern Front – Solo Expansion» Forums » General

Subject: Starting point to learn the rules? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
wulung chuanfa
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi everyone,

So I am new to war-games, heard good things about this one and thought it might be a good starting point for a relative newbie like myself so I ordered COH ATB plus the Eastern Front solo expansion. I have seen that the rules for the expansion that came in the box went through some changes and one should instead download rules directly from the publisher's website--is that correct? I do find all the rules from the base game, the expansion and then changed/updated expansion rules to be a little bit overwhelming. Does anyone have good advice of how to best learn the rules keeping in mind I am just going to be playing it solo?

Thanks in advance for any and all advice and have a great day!

Michael
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck B
United States
California
flag msg tools
mb
Hi Michael,

If you just bought the game and expansion new, the rules you have may be pretty up-to-date. There is a version number on the cover the rulebooks (bottom right, REALLY hard to see) and you can compare that to the version number of the documents on the website.

Generally, I think it's a good idea to NOT start directly with the solo expansion but to play a couple of the two-player scenarios by yourself (playing both sides) to better understand the basic concepts BUT (and that's a big but) there is a pretty substantial difference how the 2-player and the solo games of CoH handle a central aspect, which is the activation of units/phasing (solo if actually much better in that and easier to understand) so I'm not 100% convinced, this approach is necessary for CoH (maybe others can chime in)