Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Resolving before damage & horror rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Holly Warren
Canada
Cochrane
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
If you receive damage or horror cards face up which cause you to become wounded or insane, do you resolve those face up cards first before discarding all face down damage/horror cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blake Curry
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would think so, yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
East Windsor
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes:
Quote:
When an investigator claims a Damage or Horror with the Resolve Immediately trait or flips one faceup, he immediately resolves the effects of that card, which typically includes flipping the card facedown.

I recommend drawing one card at a time and resolving it's effects before drawing the next.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another important pair of rules quote to show that you do resolve all the cards before going Insane or becoming Wounded are listed in the Damage & Horror section of the rules:

RRG - Damage & Horror wrote:
• If an effect cause an investigator to suffer Damage in excess
of his health, he suffers all Damage from that effect before
becoming Wounded and discarding his facedown Damage.
...
• If an effect causes an investigator to suffer Horror in excess
of his sanity, he suffers all Horror from that effect before
becoming Insane and discarding his facedown Horror.

In both cases, this lets you know you complete resolution of whatever effect caused you to draw Damage/Horror before triggering the Insane/Wounded effect. This would include cards that force you to draw even more Damage or Horror when they resolve.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.