Ron Figiel
msg tools
Necrotic Stench Power

"Each zombie creature within 2 clear sight spaces of any Blighted Reaver gets -2 defense."

The reavers only have range 1, so what good does this do if this power is not activated outside of a turn when they are chosen/activated?

This raises a larger question. When are the powers on the cards in effect, only when that card is chosen that turn? Like I said, that doesn't make sense in this case, does it?

Same with Ob Nixilis' At Any Price power: "Destroy target non-zombie squad creature adjacent to Ob Nixilis."

Are these two power ONLY in effect on a turn in which their cards are the chosen card?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J.D. Schipper
United States
Prescott Valley
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Necrotic Stench is a static ability, not an activated ability. Thus, it is always active regardless of whether the Blighted Reavers are selected or not. (Check out the FAQ for the official classification of each ability in the original base set.)

Ob Nixilis ability is an activated ability. "Use this ability once per turn" is the wording typically used for these types of abilities that can only be used when that army card is selected.

PS - The ability is for "non-Zombie" creatures. You might want to edit and fix your original post.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trueflight Silverwing
United States
Waverly
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The game is pretty vague on what abilities are passive and what ones are triggered. Someone made a list a while back of all of the passive abilities that are active all the time. The game itself doesn't really cover it unfortunately. This one one of those cases though.

For example, Nissa from the original starter set give your archers +2 range I think it was. That ability would be completely pointless if she had to be your active unit for the turn, so obviously it was intended to be a passive ability that is on all the time as long as she is on the field.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Figiel
msg tools
Vydar wrote:
Necrotic Stench is a static ability, not an activated ability. Thus, it is always active regardless of whether the Blighted Reavers are selected or not. (Check out the FAQ for the official classification of each ability in the original base set.)

Ob Nixilis ability is an activated ability. "Use this ability once per turn" is the wording typically used for these types of abilities that can only be used when that army card is selected.

PS - The ability is for "non-Zombie" creatures. You might want to edit and fix your original post.



Fixed. Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Figiel
msg tools
Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Figiel
msg tools
Vydar wrote:
Necrotic Stench is a static ability, not an activated ability. Thus, it is always active regardless of whether the Blighted Reavers are selected or not. (Check out the FAQ for the official classification of each ability in the original base set.)

Ob Nixilis ability is an activated ability. "Use this ability once per turn" is the wording typically used for these types of abilities that can only be used when that army card is selected.

PS - The ability is for "non-Zombie" creatures. You might want to edit and fix your original post.



I wish they had a list of activated/static/triggered abilities for all the sets.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J.D. Schipper
United States
Prescott Valley
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The FAQ was generated before the expansions were released. If you want to go through the effort, you could contact Hasbro Customer Service and ask for clarification on the expansions. In my opinion, if you examine the wording carefully, it isn't difficult to sort out the classification of each ability.

1) Static - Have no timing restrictions associated with them, so they are always active.

Example: Gideon's Avatar of Justice
"Gideon gets +X [attack dice], where X is the number of opponents' figures within 2 clear line of sight spaces."

[He "gets" it no matter what. No timing restrictions.]

2) Triggered - Occur in response to a specific event.

Example: Gideon's Counter Strike
"When rolling dice for Gideon on defense against an attack from an adjacent attacking figure, each excess shield you roll counts as an unblockable hit on the attacking figure."

[Only occurs "when..."]

3) Activated - Typically these are on Planeswalkers and contain the wording "Use this ability once per turn."

Example: Liliana's Snuff Out
"Destroy target squad creature that has 1 or more damage markers and is within 6 clear sight spaces of Liliana. Use this ability once per turn."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Figiel
msg tools
These are all really helpful responses. Thank you, all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas Carver
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Ron, I was came across this thread trying to get an answer to a more particular question about Necrotic Stench, but no one has seemed to have answered it on line, on BGG or anywhere else. Is Liliana herself affected by the Necrotic Stench of the Blighted Reavers? I can understand other of her non-zombie creatures being affected, but it seems thematically she herself should be immune. Thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J.D. Schipper
United States
Prescott Valley
Arizona
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Liliana is a "Planeswalker" not a "Creature," so she is unaffected by their ability. See the text immediately under the picture on the card. The figure is only affected by the Blighted Reavers if "Creature" appears somewhere in that text.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.