Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Napoleon's Triumph» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mixing Reinforcement Entry Commands rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Labelle
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Regarding French reinforcements, can you mix the two types of commands (Corps & Unit) to get the two allowed upon entry?

Instead of a corps executing just two Corps Commands or a single unit detaching and executing just two Unit Move commands... Can you instead order a corps to do a Corps Move (with its 4 units entering via road) and then ordering a Unit Move to detach and move a single unit from the same corps?

So, a certain unit would move its first move with the corps and its second move as a Unit Move. This equaling the two allowed reinforcement commands for that unit.
And the corps itself still free to do any other Corps Command it wants as its second allowed command.

Bonus question:
That single unit in no way would then be able to do a second Unit Move?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Momoshiro wrote:
So, a certain unit would move its first move with the corps and its second move as a Unit Move. This equaling the two allowed reinforcement commands for that unit.
And the corps itself still free to do any other Corps Command it wants as its second allowed command.

Yes, definitely.

Momoshiro wrote:
Bonus question:
That single unit in no way would then be able to do a second Unit Move?

Right, because then it would have made three moves, and the rules allow it only two.
5 
 Thumb up
10.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Discriminating Cavalryman
France
Saint-Cyr-L'Ecole
île-de-France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules governing how French reinforcements may be moved when they first enter play are in open contradiction with the otherwise always applicable rule governing how any pieces may be moved in a given turn.

p. 4, bottom left column: 'A unit cannot be moved by two commands
in the same turn.'

p. 7, mid column, second paragraph: 'This is because the same pieces
cannot be moved by two different commands
in the same turn. '

French reinforcements are obviously an exception to the rule.
Therefore the underlying question is about the possibility of giving two different command types to any same unit in a given turn -- for French reinforcements, I mean.

p. 5, top mid column: " Reinforcements require commands to enter
play. They may be detached prior to entry and
enter by Unit Move commands, or they can
enter as corps by Corps Move commands. "

No issue there: you can make an indie unit from Bernadotte enter South and move the rest of Bernadotte along the highway in the North in the same turn. Everyone understands that.

Further down now: " French reinforcement units may be given two move commands in their turn of entry, and
French reinforcement commanders can give
two commands in their turn of entry. "

OK, no issue with Davout and/or Bernadotte carrying two full moves with their corps when they enter play.

but what about indie units ?

The rules read "units", not "independent units" and "two move commands", not "two different (types of) move commands".

In practice, though, it comes to the same.
Ex: Davout enters play with the first of his two moves. A this stage, EVERY unit now part of Davout's corps still has the right to be moved a second time.

Whether they are then moved by a Unit Move or a Corps Move (or any other corps command) is at your discretion.

So, you could move 1 single unit by a Unit Move, then a second single unit by a second Unit Move, then a 3rd in the same fashion, etc... up until all your independent commands for that turn are spent... and then move (the rest of) Davout with that commander's second and last move.

I hope it explains your point.


Other tricky aspects about French reinforcements:

- you cannot use a corps Detach Move with Davout and/or Bernadotte for their first move when they enter play because:
1) units moved by a Detach Move cannot move by road.
2) French reinforcements have to move by road on the first command.

- you can give two consecutive Unit Move commands to a French reinforcement indie unit when it enters play, but then you would have to spend two independent commands in order to do that.

- you could make 1 or several indie units (from a French reinforcement corps or units already detached) move into a locale, then make Davout or Bernadotte enter play into the same locale ONLY IF all the moved independent pieces are cavalry moving by road and ending their move blocking an approach crossed by the road on which they travelled (or HAD TO travel if they're reinforcement units).

All this because of road move restrictions.

But then, wait for it, you could move Davout or Bernadotte into another locale (2nd move), by road or not, or attack an enemy-occupied locale or go into the approach of the locale into which they stopped after their first move AND move any other reinforcement indie cavalry unit on any approach in the first locale back into reserve or into an adjacent locale (provided you still have indie commands left, of course) !! how's that ?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tanelchen wrote:
But then, wait for it, you could move Davout or Bernadotte into another locale (2nd move), by road or not, or attack an enemy-occupied locale or go into the approach of the locale into which they stopped after their first move AND move any other reinforcement indie cavalry unit on any approach in the first locale back into reserve or into an adjacent locale (provided you still have indie commands left, of course) !! how's that ?

That's not correct. After Davout or Bernadotte move through the locale, those independent units are not allowed to move back into reserve that turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Discriminating Cavalryman
France
Saint-Cyr-L'Ecole
île-de-France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Except if Davout or Bernadotte have only 1 unit left as part of their corps after the use of indies.
Road move restrictions only apply against corps of 2 or more units.

Should have mentioned that, though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.