Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Harry Potter: Hogwarts Battle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about working backwards in the locations rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Wynne
msg tools
Is it possible to work your way back out to previous locations that were overtaken.

Example.

On location 3, with zero control tokens. Get a card with "Remove one control token from the location card" There are no control tokens, so could we back track to location 2 with all but the last the control tokens on it. Or are we out of luck and have to stay on location 3 and the "Remove a control token" card is void.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Corey Hopkins
United States
Converse
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From my understanding, once a location is lost, it is lost for good. However, it's important to remember a couple of things:

1) The loss of a location only happens at the end of a turn, so if you can remove a control token from a full location before then, you won't lose the location.

2) Control tokens in excess of the location's slots are not placed.
12 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blake Curry
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's why it is also good to try and have cards that let you draw cards and then discard cards, so when you find yourself having a card that literally does nothing, you can discard it in favor of better stuff.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Homey_Christ wrote:
That's why it is also good to try and have cards that let you draw cards and then discard cards, so when you find yourself having a card that literally does nothing, you can discard it in favor of better stuff.

Except when there are certain villians or dark arts in effect that prevent you from drawing extra cards. If you play those cards in that instance, then you just discard with no new cards being drawn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blake Curry
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JayJ79 wrote:
Homey_Christ wrote:
That's why it is also good to try and have cards that let you draw cards and then discard cards, so when you find yourself having a card that literally does nothing, you can discard it in favor of better stuff.

Except when there are certain villians or dark arts in effect that prevent you from drawing extra cards. If you play those cards in that instance, then you just discard with no new cards being drawn.


True there are always ways to get screwed, but with shrewd planning, you can usually overcome most of them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.