Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Magic: The Gathering» Forums » Rules

Subject: Four basic rules questions? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Arturo Ron
United States
Miami
FL
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
According to the latest rules;

1. Is there mana burn?

2. Do you lose if you deck out?

3. Do you skip your draw phase is you play first?

Thank you for your time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
I'm only happy when it rains...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No mana burn

Yes to losing if you need to draw and have no library

In regular formats you do not draw a card going first.

(Look up the new mulligan rule.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Sixer
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) No longer
2) yes
3) if you're first player, yes
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelo Nikolaou
Greece
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. No, any unused mana you might have at the end of the turn disappears.

2. You lose the moment you have to draw a card and there are no cards in your deck to draw.

3. Yes, in 2-player games. The official ruling for multiplayer games is to forgo this rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Virre Linwendil Annergård
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
Forza Bajen!
badge
... and still sober
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Moonleaf wrote:
1. No, any unused mana you might have at the end of the turn disappears.


Mana pool depletes between phases and not turn, so you can not tap for mana at first main phase and then use it in a later phase.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arturo Ron
United States
Miami
FL
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
scifiantihero wrote:


(Look up the new mulligan rule.)


In the comp magic rules it just shows the old mulligan rule.

What's the new rule?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gienger
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. No mana burn. Mana pool empties at the end of a phase.

2. Not being able to draw loses the game.

3. Yes. 1st player does not draw a card on their first turn.

4. You may take a mulligan without any reason. If you do you shuffle your hand into your deck and draw one card less than before. If you decide to keep your hand and your hand consists of less than 7 cards, you may Scry 1.

5. Combat damage does not use the stack, so if you block with a creature with a sacrifice effect, you can't have damage go on the stack and then sacrifice the creature to get both effects (given the creature died from combat damage).

6. Tapped creatures deal normal combat damage when blocking

7. If your life total is 0 or less you lose the game as soon as someone gains priority, not at the end of the phase.

Hope that were all major changes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arturo Ron
United States
Miami
FL
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Thank you all!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McEvoy
Canada
Mountain
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I'd say in addition to Christian's list, a noteworthy rules change is the "Legend Rule". Which has changed twice.

First form:
"If more than one instance of any specific named Legend or Legendary Land exists on the battlefield, all except the oldest are placed in their owners' graveyards". Basically, once you controlled a Legend creature or Legendary Land, your opponent could never usefully get the same-named one.

Second form (Kamigawa):
-"Legend" is no longer a creature type, "Legendary" is now a supertype and can apply to all permanents.
-"If more than one instance of any specific named legendary permanent exists on the battlefield, ALL of them are placed in their owners' graveyards". Made it so that having a duplicate of your opponent's Legendary creature was no longer a complete loss for you - now you could play it to mutually remove itself and the opposing one. Unfortunately this also meant a copy-card like Clone could now be used to kill Legendary creatures - a particular problem in the soon-to-develop EDH or Commander variant, where each deck is centered around a Legendary creature.

Third and current form (M14):
-"If more than one instance of a specific Legendary permanent exists on the battlefield *under your control*, choose one of them and place all the others in your graveyard." Now, the game only cared about Legendary permanent uniqueness only on a per-player basis. You can't control multiples of a Legendary permanent, but the game is fine with you having one and an opponent having the same-named one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Gienger
Germany
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good point to include the legend rule.

Planeswalkers function similarly. You may only have one version of a single plainswalker at the same time on the battlefield, ie: Gideon, Ally of Zendikar or Gideon of the Trials. You may have a Liliana, the Last Hope and Nissa, Voice of Zendikar in addition and you opponent might have the same.

Also you can use only one Planeswalker ability of each Planeswalker each turn and they can only be used as a sorcery.

So Planeswalkers may be the biggest change in Magic compared to the other rule changes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.