Subject: App for the Solitaire Variant: The Empire Attacks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yan Bertrand
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all!
I'd like to discuss here the features and other points that we would like / not like an "app" for the great solo variant created by Dale to let us play Rebels on our own while the rest of the house is asleep.
I'd like to mention I've read about the Probe Deck App (website) and the Android Rebellion App (a production assistant, for now). These are great tools, but the app proposed here addresses a different need (though it would be nice to reuse/keep in common some of their efforts).

I'm using the generic "app" term for now, as I'm still thinking about how I'd go ahead and develop such a program. I'm a developer by trade, and I can do Android development. I'm not versed in web development, though that would be (I'm guessing) my favored solution for this "app", since it would be most widely available. (So maybe I'll learn.) But we're far from even having to discuss this. Also, I may or may not develop the app depending on my available time and my whims. And the purpose of starting this discussion is to discuss what we'd like it to be like, and "design it as a community", such that not just I, but others, could go ahead and implement it. To close on the "me" topic, I've only got 2 plays under my belt, but I'm really liking the game so far and my motivation is currently up to contribute.

But back to the intended topic here: designing the app.

First and foremost, the great advantage of using dale's rules is that almost everything is already decided with regards to how the Empire behaves. ("Almost" just because there always are weird cases, but the Golden Rule tells humans how to handle those cases; computers might struggle with the Golden Rule a bit more. )