Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Gloom of Kilforth: A Fantasy Quest Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Acid Cloud rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stefan Tymoshyshyn
England
Liskeard
Cornwall
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This card says that a foe will lose 1 HP after each skirmish step. Is there 1 skirmish step per round or is each fight test a skirmish step?
The reason I ask is that an item card (can't remember which) states that the foe takes it's skirmish step after the "Foe defeated check". This seems to imply there are 2 skirmish steps per round.
So does Acid Cloud do 1 damage per round or 2?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Staines
United Kingdom
Grantham
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
steftymo wrote:

The reason I ask is that an item card (can't remember which) states that the foe takes it's skirmish step after the "Foe defeated check". This seems to imply there are 2 skirmish steps per round.


The normal fight-round sequence is:

- Hero attacks
- Foe attacks
- Check if the Foe is defeated
- Check if the Hero is defeated
- Hero escapes if they want

There may be others, but at the very least the Repeater Crossbow card (which seems to have a picture of a non-repeating crossbow what the hell) moves the "Foe attacks" step to after the Foe-defeated check, meaning that if you inflict enough damage to kill the Foe you don't get hurt yourself that round.

However! Strictly speaking, the steps are:

- Skirmish
- Foe Defeated Check
- Hero Defeated Check
- Escape (optional)

There's definitely only one "Skirmish" step in a fight round, so all the effect you're referring to really does is give you one automatic extra damage every fight round.

4 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan Tymoshyshyn
England
Liskeard
Cornwall
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, that's what I thought. Just the wording about the foe's "skirmish step" threw me a bit.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.