Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Horse & Musket: Dawn of an Era» Forums » Rules

Subject: Charge range rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris McDonald
United States
Louisville
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
"The charging Horsemen or Highlander unit cannot be adjacent to any enemy units to begin the charge. If the defender retreats, withdraws, or is eliminated, the charging unit must occupy the defender’s hex.

Dragoons and Hussars: Dragoons and Hussars must be 1 or 2 hexes away before charging (3 hexes in Small Battles). These units for the purposes of withdrawing from a charge have a 4 morale value.

Highlander and Cavalry: Must be 1 hex away before charging (2 hexes in Small Battles)."

Does 1 hex away really mean 2 hexes away from the target (and 2 means 3, etc)? Otherwise it is not possible to satisfy the "cannot be adjacent to any enemy units" rule.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Russell
United States
Dearborn
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cfmcdonald wrote:
"The charging Horsemen or Highlander unit cannot be adjacent to any enemy units to begin the charge. If the defender retreats, withdraws, or is eliminated, the charging unit must occupy the defender’s hex.

Dragoons and Hussars: Dragoons and Hussars must be 1 or 2 hexes away before charging (3 hexes in Small Battles). These units for the purposes of withdrawing from a charge have a 4 morale value.

Highlander and Cavalry: Must be 1 hex away before charging (2 hexes in Small Battles)."

Does 1 hex away really mean 2 hexes away from the target (and 2 means 3, etc)? Otherwise it is not possible to satisfy the "cannot be adjacent to any enemy units" rule.


Yes, you could also phrase it that way. The idea is to measure the distance in hexes that you need to move as part of the charge in order to complete it. If you have to move only one hex to become adjacent, then you're one hex away; if you have to move two to become adjacent, then you're two hexes away.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Curtiss
United States
Dothan
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chris, that's how to play it. I think that terminology goes back to Hold the Line: Frederick's War, basically the last game in this system, and also designed by Sean. That rulebook has more specific wording about this, and interestingly, cavalry is NOT allowed to perform Close Combat in that game. It may fire or charge only.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aranubis
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do Dragoons and Hussars need to be 3 hexes away for a charge in small battles or 2 or 3?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Russell
United States
Dearborn
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
2 or 3.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.