Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Pandemic Legacy: Season 1» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 Questions: Package 6/September/late September spoilers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Florian Wedepohl
Germany
flag msg tools
Hi everyone,

Wasn't sure where exactly the things I ask about first appear, and don't have the game in front of me right now,so I included all 3 possible options for spoilers in the title.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Package 6/September/late September spoilers hidden
Spoiler (click to reveal)

Question 1: For the Parachute Equipment card: Do you actually need the player card with the Parachute Equipment sticker AND the player card that is normally required for a direct/charter flight? (1st shown, 2nd spent)? That sounds like a very rare scenario if that is correct.

Question 2: We have used the nuclear option (correct translation?). We destroyed the Ho-Chi-Minh infection card, the player card that has the nuclear option unfunded event sticker (think it was Johannesburg or something), and crossed the city out with a pen on our board (says the city is eliminated)

Does HCM still get cubes/zombies if neighbouring cities have outbreaks?
Technically, it's not a city anymore, it's destroyed. On the other hand, that would also imply you can no longer travel through HCM. Couldn't find anything on that in the rules during the last game.


Thanks in advance guys
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Camilo North
msg tools
Yes and yes. I'm going to leave out spoiler tags since you put the warning in the title.

For question 1, it might turn out to be rare, but remember that you can choose to have someone who needs it create it mid-game, and can pass it around via Share Knowledge in future games. It's also more likely to be useful the worse your board state gets.

For question 2, I guess whatever ruined population is being infected. Technically, it IS still a city by the rules of the game, just a fallen one not in the infection deck.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Beecher Greenman
msg tools
mb
1) You do need both cards. This isn't as rare as it looks, given that you can have several Parachutes in play, especially if you've got the Soldier pulling equipment out of the discards.

2) A city that gets nuked drops to Fallen, but it isn't eliminated from the board, only from the Infection Deck. You can still travel through it (though being Fallen makes that harder), and it can still get cubes and even Faded figures (though not being in the Infection Deck makes that rarer).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clive Jones

Cambridgeshire, UK
msg tools
mb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
In case there have been translation errors, I'll give the full English text for each of those stickers, before making clarifying points.

Parachute says: "If you show this card during your turn, you may then take a Direct or Charter Flight action to a rioting or collapsing city."

So:
• You get to keep your Parachute when you use it
• Yes, you do still need to use cards as normal to take the Direct or Charter Flight.
• A Parachute doesn't work on a Fallen city.
• You're not taking the Drive/Ferry action, so you don't need to discard an extra card when entering a collapsing city.
• A Parachute doesn't help you when leaving a rioting or collapsing city.
• If the Dispatcher tries to move another player, it doesn't help if that player has a Parachute, but it does help if the Dispatcher does.

I seem to remember we did use a Parachute at least once, to drop our Quarantine Specialist into a trouble zone at the start of a game. Because we'd made Atlanta a starting military base, they could equip a Parachute for one action, then fly for a second.


The Nuclear Option says: "Destroy one card in the Infection Discard Pile. Remove all cubes and Faded figures from that city, mark it as fallen, then destroy this card."

When you say "eliminated", I don't know what word the German used, but it's supposed to correspond to the term used for a city reaching panic level 5. So you should stick a panic level 5 "X" on the city, there's no need to cross it out, and the existing rules cover what happens:

• When you play the Nuclear Option, if you're silly enough to nuke a city while characters are in it, they are Lost (see the appropriate rules)
• Any research station in the city you nuke is destroyed
• Military bases survive, and Military Shuttle Flights in and out of the city continue to work
• Yes, you can still travel through the city, but it's tricky. You can no longer take Direct or Charter Flights in or out (even with a Parachute). While you can Drive/Ferry out normally, you must discard two cards of the city's colour to Drive/Ferry in.
• The nuked city is no longer in the Infection Deck. That means it can never again directly receive cubes or Faded figures. But yes, it can still receive infection markers because of adjacent Outbreaks. It could even suffer a Chain Reaction Outbreak if you managed to have four adjacent Outbreaks of the same disease. That would be a bad day.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Florian Wedepohl
Germany
flag msg tools
Hi everyone and thanks a lot for your answers!

Really helped us out, we were totally confused after early September.

After reading your answers and checking again I found out that the Parachute issue is actually covered in the German FAQ, and the nuclear option issue is stated correctly in the game.
The term in the German version ("zerstört/destroyed") actually correctly references panic level 5. It's just we never dealt with panic level 5 before, so we weren't much familiar with the term, and when we nuked HCM into the ground, we thought "destroyed" must refer to something really drastic, like eradicating it completely.

Now we just gotta figure out how to compensate for our early September loss of one of our "main characters" in a 2 player game ...

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.