Sven Folkesson
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
So, I’ve had almost a year hiatus from OpD but want to get back into it with the ambition to play the campaign game. My regular opponent and I decided to give Cristot (scenario 18.1) another go first to get back into the swing of things. Which was good, as I realise I’m not very good at the defensive (German) game.

What follows is a turn by turn description of the game. Tonight we’ll play Turn 1, Germans, so any advice before then would be appreciated of course

- Setup -

British: My opponent went for an obvious northern focus with most infantry companies and Centaurs poised for a push into the heavy bocage and woods in 1101/1102/1201/1202. The artillery on the high ground seems like a no brainer and the setup of the armour really doesn’t matter as they are mobile enough to engage any portion of the frontline.

German: I decided to keep a continuous frontline, a must with the closed terrain, else you’ll be staring at an armoured British breakthrough. What I did differently than before was to mix in some light-skinned AFVs with the forward infantry (which would turn out to be disastrous). Also, I chose to move the northern strongpoint forward 500m (one hex), before I’ve had it in 1302. And yeah, the pioneers alone in 1202 was just asking for trouble

- Turn 1, British -