Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

This War of Mine: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Exploration questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jack Liu
United States
Irvine
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Do you reshuffle the discarded explorations cards into the deck after each scavenge? Journal says reshuffle exploration after findings step but FAQ talks about reshuffling deck when it runs out

2. If you encounter bars, closed door etc and you don't have the tool to get pass, can you choose to do other things at the location such as look around and trade if you have the cards left in the known?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1)You reshuffle after each scavenging run. The FAQ entry is in the extremely unlikely event you exhaust the deck mid-run.

2)Yes, bars etc are map cards. You check if they are even allowed at your location, then if so they sit in the exploration box with residents encountered etc. and may be attempted or completely ignored if you like untill the end of the run when they get shuffled back into the exploration deck. (See top of each map card for details)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Liu
United States
Irvine
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shadrach wrote:
1)You reshuffle after each scavenging run. The FAQ entry is in the extremely unlikely event you exhaust the deck mid-run.

2)Yes, bars etc are map cards. You check if they are even allowed at your location, then if so they sit in the exploration box with residents encountered etc. and may be attempted or completely ignored if you like untill the end of the run when they get shuffled back into the exploration deck. (See top of each map card for details)


Gotcha on #1. So it's there in case you go through a bunch of extra cards that add to the unknown deck and you run out

#2. Makes sense. For some reason I thought they would block from exploring the unknown if you couldn't bypass them but looking again, there is nothing that says that. So you just leave it in the explored area and can ignore or attempt them. Cool
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam
United States
flag msg tools
Another exploration Q: We drew a door on an exploration card. the options were to peek through the keyhole to look at the next exploration card OR 'enter' which cost raising noise or discarding 2 exploration cards... That was it.

We had no idea what we were entering or how. Why would we just discard cards? Surely we were missing something?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope, you did it right. The door is just a minor obstacle thwt will either take time or risk to get past. It isn't locked, but you don't know what could be on the other side.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam
United States
flag msg tools
Thanks. Seems like an odd card, but I guess you're expected to make the thematic leap that the next exploration card drawn is what you found behind the door..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.