Popular Tags: [View All]
Allen Herring
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to Heroscape. After getting my first set and really enjoying it I went to Heroscapers that I have heard so much about.

Wow, what a wealth of information. However, it seems about as user friendly as BGG.com Can someone give me a primer on the site or do I just need to keep messing with it until you know it like the back of your hand like I now do with BGG?

For instance, how do you know how playtested a character is? Same to be asked about terrain layouts?

I love looking at all they have on there, but I don't want to shell out money finding the model and painting them only to find that it is broke.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
True Blue Jon
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
There are some customs groups on Heroscapers that do a lot of playtesting for their designs, the most notable being C3V (look in Custom Units & Army Cards - C3V and SoV Customs) and C3G (look in Comic Hero Custom Creations - C3G Project). For playtested maps, take a look at the Battlefields of Valhalla display thread in the Maps & Scenarios section.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David LeftOn4ya
United States
Florence
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, try the playtested custom figures and maps. Most are actually more play-tested than many of the official figures and maps.

See the Index of Custom Projects, but the best of these is definitely the Valhalla customs (C3V & SoV), C3G, and HoSS. Below are spreadsheets with info on all the figures:
Official Heroscape: Hextreme Heroscape Spreadsheet
Valhalla customs: Heroscape C3V & SoV Spreadsheet
C3G (Comic customs): C3G SORTABLE Index
Star Wars: HoSS Sortable Index

For Maps, check out:
Heroscape Maps Pivot Table v3.0 Originally by GameBear, updated by Retlaw].
Gary's Heroscape site - Battlefield tables by GaryLASQ
Also check out the Official Maps & Scenarios PDF
 Thumb up
 tip