Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: We will bury you Card 50 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rainer Korzendörfer
Germany
Sachsenheim
Baden Würtenberg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,
can please someone spell out how this Card works for a non native english speaker.

Get the USSR pont next Round or only when a Card is played that give the US Player VP.

How long does this Card works?

Thanks in Advance

Rainer
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Drazen
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
USSR plays "We Will Bury You" as an event.

On the next US Action Round (not headline!):

If the USA plays "UN Intervention" as an event, there is no effect.

Otherwise: USSR immediately gains 3 VP. This happens "before US VP are awarded," meaning that if the USA plays a Scoring Card on its Action Round, the USSR gets 3 VP before the Scoring Card is evaluated.

So if the USSR has 17+ VP on their end of the score track, and the We Will Bury You event activates, on the next US Action Round, the USSR will score 3 VP (and win the game!!) unless the US plays UN Intervention as an Event.

This is true even if the US plays a card that would "normally" prevent the USSR from reaching 20 VP because of scoring effects.

The duration of the effect is "until the next US Action Round." This can vary; if it is a Headline card, the effect lasts through AR1 of the Turn. However, it is possible that the USSR is at the end of the Space Race and can play 8 cards, so if the USA were to play WWBY and trigger the event in AR7, it would be evaluated on AR1 of the next Turn.

The typical duration would be "one action round," as the requirement of "playing UN Intervention as an event" is immediately evaluated the next time the US has an action round.

So to summarize, next US AR, if they do not event UN Invervention, USSR scores 3 VP. This happens one time only.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Pitying fools as hard as I can...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It scores on the following event phase after cards are revealed, but before any other points are scored.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alter Zausel
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hallo Rainer,

versuchen wir's doch auf Deutsch:

Wenn das Ereignis ("event") ausgelöst wird (entweder weil die Russen es als Ereignis spielen oder weil die Amis es für die Ops-Punkte ("operations") spielen und damit das Ereignis auslösen, passiert erst einmal nichts.

Spannend wird es im nächsten US-Zug: Spielen die Amis UN-Intervention als Ereignis (also zusammen mit einer russischen Karte, die sie damit neutralisieren wollen), gibt es keine Siegpunkte ("victory point", "VPs") für irgendwen.

Spielen die Amis aber UN-Intervention für den einen Ops-Punkt oder spielen sie irgendeine andere Karte (egal für was), dann bekommen die Russen 3 Siegpunkte. Interessant ist der letzte Halbsatz: Wenn nämlich die Karte, die die Amis spielen ihnen Siegpunkte bringt (z. B. eine "Scoring" Karte), dann kriegen die Russen ihre 3 Punkte zuerst. Wenn die Russen also schon bei 17 Siegpunkten stehen, können sie damit das Spiel gewinnen, bevor die Amis ihre Siegpunkte (z. B. von der "Scoring" Karte) kriegen.

Klar soweit?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rainer Korzendörfer
Germany
Sachsenheim
Baden Würtenberg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rhx to all

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.