Recommend
11 
 Thumb up
 Hide
66 Posts
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

Tau Ceti: Planetary Crisis» Forums » Rules

Subject: Session Reports, FAQ, and Errata rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TAU CETIZENS!

I'm thrilled that TAU CETI has now reached your Gaming Table and I'm excited to hear about your exploits across the sector...from navigating asteroid fields in search of Knowledge tokens to resolving Crises on planets to battling Galactic Marauders to buying and selling required commodities...all to garner Galactic Points. will you save TAU CETI or will the Crises wreak too much havoc on this fragile sector destroying it forever.

Session Reports

We're interested in hearing your story, so please we hope a few of our intrepid Cetizens will pen reports on their exploits. We'll also, in the months ahead, create a GoogleLink where you can provide additional information on your game (# of players; Races played; final scores; etc) which will inform our decisions on how we proceed in the future.

FAQ

It's important that any questions are resolved quickly. Between MIke and I, we'll maintain a robust presence here and update this very thread, so in the future, you need not scroll through pages of questions. I've seen it done well and not-so-well in the past, and it's an important aspect of the gaming experience to find answers quickly. To that end, we'll maintain this thread for all correct rule interpretations.

Errata

Having worked on more than four dozen games over the last eight years, every designer and developer wants to present a clear, concise, and cogent set of rules, free of errata. It has never happened and it will never happen...so, to get things rolling, I've found two things that I'll bring to your attention now, so you're off on the right foot.

1. In-Demand Commodities

1st Cetian Cycle: Each player places, from the Supply pile, the in-Demand Commodity on their planet, onto the "2" section of Command Center's Cargo Area.

All later Cetian Cycles: Each player places, from the Supply pile, the in-Demand Commodity on their planet, onto the "1" section of Command Center's Cargo Area.

2. Galactic Marauders

The Galactic Marauder Patrols ("2") and Fleets ("4") are defeated with 1 hit and 2 hits respectively, as the "2" level Patrol is comprised of a "1" level Weapon and a "1" level Hull, while the "4" level Fleet is comprised of a "2" level Weapon and a "2" level Hull. Patrols garner the victor 1 GP, while the Fleets garner the victor 3 GPs.


Cheers,
Joe
7 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Brown
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Professor wrote:
TAU CETIZENS

1. At the beginning of the 2nd Turn (and every subsequent turn thereafter), after placing a new Commodity tile fro the Demand pile, each player earns "1" of those Commodities (compared to "2" during the first turn).

This is confusing me, I don't see any reference to earning Commodities at the beginning of a turn. The steps in the rule book are:

Quote:
1. Remove all Commodity tokens from planets, return to Demand Pile, and drop their Market Level by 1 on the TCX.
2. Place new Commodity tokens on planets, taken from Demand pile, and increase their Market Level by 1 on the TCX.

I take this to mean we wipe the board clean of all Commodity tokens and then put new ones on each planet, decreasing and then increasing the TCX accordingly. I don't see any steps where players earn commodities.

A follow up question for Commodities while we're on the subject...is there a consolidated list of the Commodities by name, home planet, comparative advantage, and special effects? There's a blurb about Xunari Algae affecting EXP and Telepathic Generator affecting REC, but no mention of any of the others.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jason,

Great.. .I'm glad you asked. So, at the beginning of the game, each player places a Commodity token from the Supply based on what's on their home planet onto the "2" slot in their hold. On subsequent turns, perform the same action but only place a time in the "1" slot.

As to the Commodities, they're all listed in the Alien Races Guide.

Cheers,
Joe
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Brown
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, so gain one Commodity should occur after the two-step Change Demand action at the beginning of the Action phase, but which Commodity do we gain? The Homeworld Commodity for which we have a comparative advantage or the random one we place on our Homeworld from the Demand Pile in step 2?

As to the Commodities, are the algae and telepathic generators the only two with a special effect? I recommend adding the effects to the Commodities chart, perhaps offsetting them so they stand out, and moving the chart to the rule book.

Better yet, it would be nice to have that chart on a reference card with the minor actions listed on the other side.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jason,

Thanks for taking the time to pose these inquiries:

So, gain one Commodity should occur after the two-step Change Demand action at the beginning of the Action phase, but which Commodity do we gain? The Homeworld Commodity for which we have a comparative advantage or the random one we place on our Homeworld from the Demand Pile in step 2?

You gain "1" of the randomly-determined tokens placed from the Demand Pile


As to the Commodities, are the algae and telepathic generators the only two with a special effect? I recommend adding the effects to the Commodities chart, perhaps offsetting them so they stand out, and moving the chart to the rule book.

Yes, beyond their use for UPG Actions, those two Commodities have an additional benefit. That's a very good idea regarding the chart. As we're developing ideas for the expansion, this would prove a beneficial item we can provide. In the interim, I'll work with Mike to produce one which we can provide as a File item.

Cheers,
Joe
3 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Brown
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Professor wrote:

2. The Galactic Marauder Patrols ("2") and Fleets ("4") are defeated with 1 hit and 2 hits respectively, as the "2" level Patrol is comprised of a "1" level Weapon and a "1" level Hull, while the "4" level Fleet is comprised of a "2" level Weapon and a "2" level Hull. Patrols garner the victor 1 GP, while the Fleets garner the victor 3 GPs.


Does this mean the Marauder Patrols only roll 1 attack die and Fleets 2? Correspondingly, Patrols only take 1 hit to defeat and Fleets 2?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jason,

Yes, indeed ~ that's correct!

Cheers,
Joe
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Strickland
United States
Fort Myers
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For anyone who has questions about the Commodities and their various uses, I've put together a supplemental Commodity Reference Sheet for you which can be downloaded here https://www.dropbox.com/s/hzxy0eojjylerhd/Commodities_Uses.p...

I've also uploaded it here on BGG in the files section, so it should appear there shortly.

Cheers,
~Mike
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Grawan
Germany
Lehrte
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a few Questions:

1.) Is there any rule against placing a home world in a very far-off spot, potentially behind the huge asteroid or far away from potential hexes to expand to? Wouldn't this be very detrimentally for the race?

2.) Is there a cap for how many damage a system can take? Or can a 1-die computer only take 1 damage?

3.) When placing commodities on the planets before the first round of the game (when setting up the hexes), do their stocks change? Do they change again when the first enlightenment phase instructs us to remove and place new commodities? If so, why bother placing the first commodities in the first place?

4.) What are the advanced rules? When do they get used? There is no rule about when to apply them as far as I know.

5.) My race has the objective to have 4 of three different commodities at the end of the game. This objective is completed if I have those three commodities on the '4' spot of my cargo, right?

6.) What are the Black Matter hexes used for? Can I build 'bridges/bypasses' with them?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sebastian,

First, thanks for taking the time to provide some questions. Second, let me answer each one, in-turn:

1.) No...the only rule regarding placement is that when the tile is selected, it must be placed to any existing tile currently on the table. You may not draw your own planet, but even if you did, there's nothing prohibiting you from placing it far from everything else, as long as you follow the one adjacency rule.

2.) Great question...no, there's no cap. While a 1-level system will become inoperable after sustaining one damage marker, additional damage simply indicates damage beyond the system itself, requiring an additional level of repair.

3.) There may be an issue with the way we conveyed the rules or an interpretation issue. You do place a demand tile on each planet and increase each Commodity's value on the TCX before the first round (and the Enlightenment Phase). However, subsequent rounds will require you to change the Commodities before the associated Enlightenment Phase.

4.) The Advanced Rules provide an array of options to add depth and/or difficulty to your games...use some, none, or all of them.

5.) When you take the Commodities from your cargo and return them to the Supply, you have completed the Objective...you do not retain the Commodities, but are turning them over to the TAU CETI Authority.

6.) The Dark Matter hexes are used to fill gaps in the system...they serve as another tile and you must count a section (whether one or many combined) as a tile when taking a MOV Action.

Cheers,
Joe

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Tresman
United Kingdom
Christchurch
Dorset
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
zorin_productions wrote:
For anyone who has questions about the Commodities and their various uses, I've put together a supplemental Commodity Reference Sheet for you which can be downloaded here https://www.dropbox.com/s/hzxy0eojjylerhd/Commodities_Uses.p...

I've also uploaded it here on BGG in the files section, so it should appear there shortly.

Cheers,
~Mike



Mike thats useful except root is for plants and route is for path of travel.

The advanced rules should have been on larger cards and then no need for all this reference to rulebook.

A quick question.

The rulebook page 117) is contradictory the rule states only remove cube if primary specialisation, the example implies you always lose a Resource Cube. Which is it?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jerry,

Actually, the use of "root" is quite specific as we're not referring to a "route" but instead a "root" as in "to anchor a plant" as it anchors the Knowledge token, but I definitely see your point if it were in fact a "route" for the system.

Good point on the Advanced Rule cards ~ that may be something we consider changing when we work on the expansion.

Regarding the loss of a Resource Cube, you should lose one only if it's your primary Specialization. A future Variant will remove a Resource Cube if ANY Crisis affects your planet.

Cheers,
Joe
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Tresman
United Kingdom
Christchurch
Dorset
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
cool
The Professor wrote:
Jerry,

Actually, the use of "root" is quite specific as we're not referring to a "route" but instead a "root" as in "to anchor a plant" as it anchors the Knowledge token, but I definitely see your point if it were in fact a "route" for the system.

Good point on the Advanced Rule cards ~ that may be something we consider changing when we work on the expansion.

Regarding the loss of a Resource Cube, you should lose one only if it's your primary Specialization. A future Variant will remove a Resource Cube if ANY Crisis affects your planet.

Cheers,
Joe


Thanks missed it was infact the plant creature

During setup and Action Phase step 3 are commodities only taken from thr demand pile and placed on player planets or on all planets?

When you tske the two commodities during setup does one go on your planet ?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Strickland
United States
Fort Myers
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Starman54 wrote:


During setup and Action Phase step 3 are commodities only taken from thr demand pile and placed on player planets or on all planets?

When you tske the two commodities during setup does one go on your planet ?


Commodities are placed on all planets, both during setup and the Action Phase, with regards to change in Demand.

During setup, the two commodities you take are placed on your Player Board. For example, if you get two Nano-Processors, you'd place one Nano-Processor Commodity toke in the #2 slot on your Player Board (see the illustration on page 8).

Cheers,
Mike
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Tresman
United Kingdom
Christchurch
Dorset
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
zorin_productions wrote:
Starman54 wrote:


During setup and Action Phase step 3 are commodities only taken from thr demand pile and placed on player planets or on all planets?

When you tske the two commodities during setup does one go on your planet ?


Commodities are placed on all planets, both during setup and the Action Phase, with regards to change in Demand.

During setup, the two commodities you take are placed on your Player Board. For example, if you get two Nano-Processors, you'd place one Nano-Processor Commodity toke in the #2 slot on your Player Board (see the illustration on page 8).

Cheers,
Mike

Thanks yep just worked that out.

I would also have the minor actions on the larger player aid card. Putting togather a 8 x 11 player aid over the next few weeks.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jerry,

Sounds great! Based on the great post-production feedback we've received, I'm going to discuss the creation of a TAU CETI Authority Guide with Mike which would include additional information about Commodities, Economics & Trade, Operating in the TAU CETI System (to include Minor Actions), and much more.

Cheers,
Joe
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Tresman
United Kingdom
Christchurch
Dorset
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I missed the errata


"1. At the beginning of the 2nd Turn (and every subsequent turn thereafter), after placing a new Commodity tile fro the Demand pile, each player earns "1" of those Commodities (compared to "2" during the first turn)."

As the only placing of commodities is during setup and each player gets two of his homeworld commodity. Unless I missread that.

Question:- In the first turn are you saying each player should also get two of the commodity placed on their home planet drawn randomly from the demand pile. As in "(compared to "2" during the first turn)."

Or

Are you saying there should be an additional step to change demand

3) From turn 2 onwards each player gains one of the commodity type just placed on his homeworld.

?????
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jerry,

No problem...glad you're here now!

Let me try it this way...You're playing the Terran Confederation and at the beginning of the game, the random Commodity on Mir Nova is Gold (Demand token). You acquire, for free, a Gold Commodity token from the Supply and place it in the "2" section of your Command Ship's Storage Area. On the second turn (and all turns thereafter), once you've determined the new in-Demand Commodity for Mir Nova, you place one token from Supply in the "1" section of your Command Ship's Storage Area.

Cheers,
Joe
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Tresman
United Kingdom
Christchurch
Dorset
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Starman54 wrote:
I missed the errata


"1. At the beginning of the 2nd Turn (and every subsequent turn thereafter), after placing a new Commodity tile fro the Demand pile, each player earns "1" of those Commodities (compared to "2" during the first turn)."

As the only placing of commodities is during setup and each player gets two of his homeworld commodity. Unless I missread that.

Question:- In the first turn are you saying each player should also get two of the commodity placed on their home planet drawn randomly from the demand pile. As in "(compared to "2" during the first turn)."

Or

Are you saying there should be an additional step to change demand

3) From turn 2 onwards each player gains one of the commodity type just placed on his homeworld.

?????


The Professor wrote:
Jerry,

No problem...glad you're here now!

Let me try it this way...You're playing the Terran Confederation and at the beginning of the game, the random Commodity on Mir Nova is Gold (Demand token). You acquire, for free, a Gold token from the Supply. On the second turn, you remove the Gold token from Mir Nova and replace it with another commodity...Nano-Processors. Now, you gain one Nano-Processor

[more to come...typing on a phone]


Joe you seem to answer as though we need an explanation when generally we just want a clarification and sometimes a yes or no to our questions. To my last post both my interpretations were wrong because your original post clearly states from the second turn.

From what you are saying here and previous answers you need to edit your original post. As this is a new version. As it happens every turn.

Remove
1. At the beginning of the 2nd Turn (and every subsequent turn thereafter), after placing a new Commodity tile fro the Demand pile, each player earns "1" of those Commodities (compared to "2" during the first turn). as this is wrong.

To be replaced by

Add the following to the Change Demand section of the Action phase.

3) Each player gains one of the commodity type just placed on his homeworld.




This fits the explanation you just posted.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jerry,

Apologies if that appeared too verbose. I'm sensitive to the fact that we have non-native English speakers as Backers and consumers so a more full description is more apt.

I'll add to the FAQ, as follows:

1st Cetian Cycle: Each player places, from Supply, the in-Demand Commodity on their planet, onto the "2" section of Command Center's Cargo Area.

All later Cetian Cycles: Each player places, from Supply, the in-Demand Commodity on their planet, onto the "1" section of Command Center's Cargo Area.

Cheers,
Joe
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Tresman
United Kingdom
Christchurch
Dorset
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Professor wrote:
Jerry,

Apologies if that appeared too verbose. I'm sensitive to the fact that we have non-native English speakers as Backers and consumers so a more full description is more apt.

I'll add to the FAQ, as follows:

1st Cetian Cycle: Each player places, from Supply, the in-Demand Commodity on their planet, onto the "2" section of Command Center's Cargo Area.

All later Cetian Cycles: Each player places, from Supply, the in-Demand Commodity on their planet, onto the "1" section of Command Center's Cargo Area.

Cheers,
Joe



Thanks joe your example seemed to imply different.

I would change

All later Cetian Cycles: Each player places, from Supply, the in-Demand Commodity on their planet, onto the "1" section of Command Center's Cargo Area.

To
All later Cetian Cycles: Each player places, from Supply, the in-Demand Commodity on their planet, onto the "1" section of Command Center's Cargo Area or increases it by 1.


Question: If more than one non cancelled crisis occurs in the Enlightenment Cycle does just the highest number activate?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Tresman
United Kingdom
Christchurch
Dorset
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is not mentioned in the rules but are the Altauri knowledge cards use when exploring Altauri.

Also the some crisis affects seem to imply they only effect the crisis planet e.g. Megathrust Earthquaqes how does this work thematicslly, as it seems all races are impacted.

The rules state to discard the crisis card but to me it would seem best to leave it out for reference until the crisis is reolved.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Starman54 wrote:

I would change

All later Cetian Cycles: Each player places, from Supply, the in-Demand Commodity on their planet, onto the "1" section of Command Center's Cargo Area.

To
All later Cetian Cycles: Each player places, from Supply, the in-Demand Commodity on their planet, onto the "1" section of Command Center's Cargo Area or increases it by 1.


Yes, that's very good...thank you!


Quote:
Question: If more than one non cancelled crisis occurs in the Enlightenment Cycle does just the highest number activate?


Yes, only the highest numbered one is activated
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Starman54 wrote:
It is not mentioned in the rules but are the Altauri knowledge cards use when exploring Altauri.


Yes, you are correct.

Quote:
Also the some crisis affects seem to imply they only effect the crisis planet e.g. Megathrust Earthquaqes how does this work thematicslly, as it seems all races are impacted.


Despite the Crises, trade and other interplanetary travel continue to exist in the TAU CETI System.

Quote:
The rules state to discard the crisis card but to me it would seem best to leave it out for reference until the crisis is reolved.


Yes, you may leave it out especially if there's a persistent effect.

Quote:
Solo Rules
Performing the AI's Actions

4)
When it says movement of the AI's command ship does not require a MOV Action or Energy expenditure, does this mean it does not pay the transport energy cost? As the AI's don't have MOV not sure if this was needed as players don't use a MOV when carrying out IM actions.


Correct. No, but there is an additional cost associated with some IM cards.

Quote:
For an explore action does the AI ship just move to the nearest sector with an unexplored area.


Yes.

Quote:
If there are no such sectors do you place an outer limit sector and EXP there?


Yes.

Quote:
For IM actions do you just draw the top card?


Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Tresman
United Kingdom
Christchurch
Dorset
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Professor wrote:
Starman54 wrote:
It is not mentioned in the rules but are the Altauri knowledge cards use when exploring Altauri.


Yes, you are correct.

Quote:
Also the some crisis affects seem to imply they only effect the crisis planet e.g. Megathrust Earthquaqes how does this work thematicslly, as it seems all races are impacted.


Despite the Crises, trade and other interplanetary travel continue to exist in the TAU CETI System



I realise that is an in theme answer but does the effect act throughout Tau Ceti and not just on the planet.
Solo Clarification:-

For IM do you pay the IM cost on the Interface board? And do you pay the cost on the card (usually transport) which your answer seems to confirm.

For EXP I guessed at placing an outer limits , seemed logical needs to be added to FAQ / errata.


I am off to a games day at the Oxford Meeples tomorrow so I need to have the rules correct as I do not want to put them off the game.


Also fro Mike and ypur answers about starting commodities there seems to be some confusion.

Do you automatically get 2 starting commodities matching you race/ planet, Recent posts contradict this and state in the first cycle you get two of the random commodity on your home planet. Which is it?

Mike mentioned placing commodities on planets during setup this would be pointless as they would be removed in the first action phase.






1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.