Brad
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Question 1
In the RR Mission Cards (page 8) it says “If the leaders assigned to the mission do not have a combined number of matching skill icons equal to or exceeding the mission’s skill requirement, the mission cannot be revealed. It remains facedown, and the player must activate a system, reveal a different mission, or pass.”

Couldn’t someone use this to psych your opponent out? How would you know if your opponent really couldn’t do the mission, but instead wanted to use the leader(s) to react to a move you just made by activating a system with the leader(s)? It seems this could be done by revealing the mission card to prove it but it says “mission cannot be revealed”.

How would this also work if you have two leaders on there?

Maybe this is all moot since maybe this is supposed to work such that the leaders on the card must stay there and you must "activate a system [or] reveal a different mission" with your other leaders. This doesn't say you must do this "with different leaders" but maybe that's the intent?

Question 2
“If a leader that is on a mission card is eliminated, captured, or moved off the mission, the mission card returns to its owner’s hand without being revealed”

I don’t understand what this means or where a situation like this would ever arise.

Question 3
What happens if Mon Mothma was turned to dark side and the Rebels play Establish Trade Relation and Imperial sends Mon Mothma to oppose. Would it be +2 successes to Imperials? This happened yesterday and we played as if it was, but wanted to make sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
1) The leaders on a mission you cannot or choose not to reveal cannot do anything else but sit on the card until it returns to your hand in the refresh phase.

2) I honestly don't understand why this passage is there, either. Possible future-proofing is my guess...

3) No. The bonus successes only apply if the leader is attempting the mission. You could consider that you effectively took the successes away from the rebels when you turned Mothma, though...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) You are allowed to do that with missions you could reveal too. It's just that you must do it with missions you can't reveal. There's nothing to say that you must reveal missions that you are able to.

2) I would also say future-proofing

3) I agree. Only the leaders assigned to the mission can get the bonuses. For example, if Mon Mothma was still a Rebel leader and happened to be there from a prior mission, you don't get the +2 successes either, even though she will contribute dice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
example, if Mon Mothma was still a Rebel leader and happened to be there from a prior mission, you don't get the +2 successes either, even though she will contribute dice.


Yup. It is clear from previous rulings that "assigned to" and "attempting" are interchangeable terms.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luca Tolomelli
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
1) You are allowed to do that with missions you could reveal too. It's just that you must do it with missions you can't reveal. There's nothing to say that you must reveal missions that you are able to


What happens to the (non Basic) mission card?
Do you take it back in your hand or is it discarded?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel van der pol
Netherlands
Leiden
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
LukeZ wrote:
Clipper wrote:
1) You are allowed to do that with missions you could reveal too. It's just that you must do it with missions you can't reveal. There's nothing to say that you must reveal missions that you are able to


What happens to the (non Basic) mission card?
Do you take it back in your hand or is it discarded?


If you don't reveal the mission, the mission goes back to your hand at the start of the refresh phase and the leader on the mission goes to the leader pool. This is true for both Starting Missions as well as normal missions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Casey
msg tools
mbmbmb
Leaving a mission unrevealed by choice or due to requirements not being met does not return those leaders to your pool nor can leaders be pulled off a mission for opposing/activation/battle. So, the only psych out benifit I could see is that your opponent might play more conservative by holding back leaders for what they imagine you are trying to do.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel van der pol
Netherlands
Leiden
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sirusx715 wrote:
Leaving a mission unrevealed by choice or due to requirements not being met does not return those leaders to your pool nor can leaders be pulled off a mission for opposing/activation/battle. So, the only psych out benifit I could see is that your opponent might play more conservative by holding back leaders for what they imagine you are trying to do.


The leader returns to the Leader Pool at the start of the Refresh phase. Basically, putting a leader with too few icons on a mission makes sure that that leader cannot do anything that turn.

You can place a leader on a mission and choose not to reveal it as a bluff or choice; for the Rebels putting a leader on Rapid Mobilization without using it is a valid tactic. Its a safeguard should the Empire do something unexpected; if the Empire doesn't do something which requires moving the base then you don't play the mission during the Command phase. Both the mission and the leader return to your hand and leader pool respectively at the start of the refresh phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.