Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Shockley
United States
Seffner
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
* * * WHAT IS IT ? * * *

Caesar's War is a two player game published in 2012 by Decision Games. The designer is Joseph Miranda, who must be one of tabletop gaming's most prolific designers. This is a "mini-game"; that is, it has a very small 11 by 17 inch map, 18 micro-cards, and 40 half inch counters. That's it! You can play this game on a TV dinner tray. The rules are only a few pages, and the game can be played in 1-2 hours (perhaps less if the Romans achieve a quick victory; more on that later.)

The subject matter is Julius Caesar's attempt to bring Gaul (modern day France) under the control of the Roman Republic. I am no expert on the history, but my limited understanding is that the war was a prolonged affair, matching the superior equipment and discipline of the Roman soldiers against the recalcitrance and persistence of the various gallic tribes, who refused to "stay conquered". The game simulates this well, as the Roman player has stronger armies, as well as a greater degree of command flexibility. The barbarian player will likely lose more battles and find it difficult to hold onto his fortresses, however he has a variety of cards that allow him to spawn armies behind Roman lines and engage in constant harrassment of the Roman army. This has the result of making it easy for the Romans to take the fortresses, but slightly harder to hold onto them (the Roman player must hold all 4 fortresses through the subsequent barbarian player turn to win.)

* * * G A M E P L A Y * * *

One player controls the Romans, the other the barbarians, a loosely knit group of warriors attempting to challenge Caesar's invasion.