Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

Falling Sky: The Gallic Revolt Against Caesar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Are Forts a Piece? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are forts a piece? I think they are. But the Index of Terms leaves them out.
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex P
France
La Plaine St-Denis
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
IIRC, every wooden thing is a piece. (warning: I don't have the rules in front of me)
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Kouba

Minnesota
msg tools
mbmb
the COIN games have about the best glossary I've seen in games...

this is from pg 31... (so, a Fort is not a piece)

Piece—Warband, Auxilia, Legion, Leader,
Allied Tribe (Ally), or Citadel (not markers
like Dispersed). (1.4)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kaede Farenheit
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmb
I was sure that the game stated every single wooden thing was a piece at one point. I always considered forts as pieces. :\

EDIT:

I confirm what I said. In page 3 forts are considered pieces. Forts are also confirmed as a piece when describing defeat results in battle (page 11):
Quote:
he Defender must remove a piece for each Loss suffered,
including Leader, Legion, Citadel, or Fort without first rolling
a 1-3.


I guess they forgot about forts in the glossary.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex P
France
La Plaine St-Denis
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
They were probably grouping them with Citadels.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Childs
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Forts are definitely pieces.

Here's a screenshot from the rules.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Wiik
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
mb
Forts are pieces! They are! See 1.4. They count as pieces to determine control (1.6).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harold Buchanan
United States
RSF
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Live by the Key Terms Index:

Fort—Static Roman Forces piece representing fortifications in a Region. (1.4, 4.2.1)

If ever uncertain - refer to the Key Terms Index first.

HB
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Kouba

Minnesota
msg tools
mbmb
Kaede11 wrote:
I confirm what I said. In page 3 forts are considered pieces... I guess they forgot about forts in the glossary.


interesting, there's my something new learned for the day...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luigi Pasato
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Anyway, definitely Forts should be included under the entry "Piece" in the Key Terms Index:

Piece—Warband, Auxilia, Legion, Leader, Allied Tribe (Ally), or Citadel (not markers like Dispersed). (1.4)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kaede Farenheit
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmb
Luigi wrote:
Anyway, definitely Forts should be included under the entry "Piece" in the Key Terms Index:

Piece—Warband, Auxilia, Legion, Leader, Allied Tribe (Ally), or Citadel (not markers like Dispersed). (1.4)


They should!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Childs
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You can submit that to the Errata thread.
They can't fix it if they don't know it's broke.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I suppose I could do that. It is an obnoxious thread though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex P
France
La Plaine St-Denis
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can't be as bad as many ASL fans.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's not a mean spirited thread. Don't get me wrong there, it is just very chaotic and unstructured. I only read the top part with the official errata and clarifications.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I added the correction (Forts should be in the list given under "Pieces" on page 31) to the Errata page.

Thanks Mark for catching that and all for discussion.

Volko
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.