Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Wasserman
United States
Morgantown
WV
flag msg tools
I don't think he would like that.
badge
"A single action or event is interesting, not because it is explainable, but because it is true." - Goethe
mbmbmbmbmb
I research how people learn from playing games—and boardgames specifically—and my initial exploration of this process using Dominion has just been published in Simulation & Gaming! This is my first publication (I'm a PhD student), and I wanted to share it with BGG, because this is the community that first got me into boardgaming.

Details and Dynamics: Mental Models of Complex Systems in Game-Based Learning

In this study, I wanted to explore how (and whether) novices understand games as systems. I selected Dominion because it shares some characteristics with other complex systems that cause persistent challenges to understanding.

I'd love to respond to any feedback or questions you might have, about this study, what it's like to be a PhD student researching boardgames, or whatever.

The abstract is below, and you can download a preprint version from my website, but feel free to geekmail me your email address, and I'll happily share the full article. (An unfortunate part about academic publishing is that most articles are paywalled.)

Background. Although the effectiveness of game-based learning (GBL) is well-supported, much less is known about the process underlying it. Nevertheless, developing a mental model that matches the game system, which in turn models a real-world system, is a promising proposed process.

Aim. This article explores the first steps in model matching: identifying the entities and (complex) relations in a game system.