Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Time of Crisis» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 player game - clarification of No Place Governor marker rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Morocco
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
2 Player game and was wondering about the No Place Governor markers on the 6 provinces like Britannia, Hispania, etc...(the same question would also apply for the 3 player game also)


Provinces marked with a No Place Governor marker are treated like any other province except players cannot choose them as their initial province nor target them with the Place Governor action.

Question: How can either of the 2 player ever gain control of the province with No Place Governor counter on it?

a - I suspect that the rule only exists for the first turn after setup...

b - These provinces marked with a No Place Governor can never be controlled/owned by a player.

Not questioning the design intent, and glad to have a nice strategic Ancient game just want to make sure I'm playing the game as intended...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Roig
Germany
Mainz
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Looking at the rules, I would say b, they would never be controlled by a player.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Rivera
United States
Fountain
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer is B, you can never control, have a governor, in a place with a No Governor marker. You however can move in and thru them. This means you can attack barbarians that enter there for VP or use the province to move to an attack or as a staging area for a future attack.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Johnson
United States
Crystal Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
coyotelaughs wrote:
The answer is B, you can never control, have a governor, in a place with a No Governor marker. You however can move in and thru them. This means you can attack barbarians that enter there for VP or use the province to move to an attack or as a staging area for a future attack.

This is correct, thanks Dan!

Provinces with the "No Place Governor" tokens are assumed to permanently be governed by non-player factions. This rule exists only to scale the map to lower player counts. (Without it, it would be far too easy for 2 or 3 players to control several provinces each with no need for player conflict, which just makes a much more stagnant and boring game, in our opinion.)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Morocco
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Excellent thanks for not only providing answer but also taking time to explain how it effects game play!
thumbsup
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, Rival Emperors can appear in those provinces.

Now what to do with event cards that ad non-existent barbarian tribe leaders? Redraw? Ignore?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wray Ferrell
United States
Cary
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Windopaene wrote:
Also, Rival Emperors can appear in those provinces.

Now what to do with event cards that ad non-existent barbarian tribe leaders? Redraw? Ignore?


Just go ahead and follow the event as normal. Since those tribes will never be activated it is the same as ignoring it. You could redraw, but that would increase the timer as you would be drawing two events for one 7 rolled. I added this question to the FAQ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.