Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Allegiance: A Realm Divided» Forums » Rules

Subject: Battleworn Merc Vs Nalissa rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Parkes
msg tools
Quick simple question guys n gals. If you have a damaged Merc and the enemy has a Nalissa and uses the ability to kill your Merc. As the destroy part of the ability finishes with a full stop does the owner of the Merc get to pay a gold and keep the Merc from being controlled by another player or does the second phase of Nalissa's ability overrule the Merc's text and become Nalissa's newest puppet?

Thanks in advance guys.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Underground Games
msg tools
publisher
Avatar
Hi Michael,

Nalissa would take control of the Mercenary.

The relevant part of the rulebook for this situation is on page 16, in the section Announcing and Resolving Maneuvers. It says, “No players may play any maneuvers while another maneuver is actually resolving - the resolving maneuver’s effect happens in its entirety, uninterrupted.”

This means that once Convert the Weak starts resolving, it will fully resolve before anything else happens. This means the Mercenary will be destroyed, then return to play under Nalissa’s control. Nothing else happens until after the maneuver’s effect fully resolves. After that, technically, the Mercenary’s triggered effect will go on the chain, but nothing will happen when that ability resolves since the Mercenary is not in the discard pile any more to return to your hand.

Cheers,

Underground Games
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.