Gutripper
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So in the Race phase it says you start by rolling your dice pool. After that you then start using machine parts. Do the dice generated from machine parts get rolled and added to your dice pool straight away or do they need to be stored for another round?

Also with regard to smooth movement if you for example have 3 spaces to a mountain and you generate 3 regular movement and you have a boost card that gives you a smooth movement that you can use anytime, can I 'interrupt' my 3 regular movement and use the smooth movement for that section with the mountain and then move one more space after the smooth movement?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kim Williams
United Kingdom
St Just
Cornwall
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You use all the dice you want that turn, including dice you've freshly generated that turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wim van Iersel
Netherlands
Tilburg
flag msg tools
badge
Elmo likes to roll the dice
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Regarding the smooth motion. No you have to first finish the result of the activation of the machine part. You are allowed to exchange cogs for dice at the little factories along the way when you move 3 spaces from a single activation.

Remember you are allowed to activate a machine part multiple times in the race phase. You could maybe move 2 spaces, use the boost card and then activate the machine part again with another die.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gutripper
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
banaan666 wrote:
Regarding the smooth motion. No you have to first finish the result of the activation of the machine part. You are allowed to exchange cogs for dice at the little factories along the way when you move 3 spaces from a single activation.


Even though the boost card can be played at 'any time'?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars Wagner Hansen
Denmark
Sorø
flag msg tools
designer
Any time, any place!
badge
Fingers off, that's my car!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
At any time, but they can't interrupt an activation of a machine part. Once you place dice on a machine part you have to apply the result immediately. So if you generate 3 regular movement you have to use those, before you can play any other cards or activate other machine parts.

But you can activate machine parts several times, and thereby possible break up your movement.

Dice generated by machine parts have to be rolled immediately, and cannot be stored to next round, unless you have machine parts that lets you store dice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gutripper
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
l-hansen wrote:
At any time, but they can't interrupt an activation of a machine part. Once you place dice on a machine part you have to apply the result immediately. So if you generate 3 regular movement you have to use those, before you can play any other cards or activate other machine parts.

But you can activate machine parts several times, and thereby possible break up your movement.

Dice generated by machine parts have to be rolled immediately, and cannot be stored to next round, unless you have machine parts that lets you store dice.


OK so better to activate it for 2 movement then use the boost card and then activate for further movement (would require an extra dice and the right amount of pips as you have to move all of it if it's 3)

Thanks!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Laudermilk
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gutripper wrote:
So in the Race phase it says you start by rolling your dice pool. After that you then start using machine parts. Do the dice generated from machine parts get rolled and added to your dice pool straight away or do they need to be stored for another round?

They get rolled and added to your pool right away.

Gutripper wrote:
Also with regard to smooth movement if you for example have 3 spaces to a mountain and you generate 3 regular movement and you have a boost card that gives you a smooth movement that you can use anytime, can I 'interrupt' my 3 regular movement and use the smooth movement for that section with the mountain and then move one more space after the smooth movement?

No. You must complete the first move activation, then execute the next. This is where tactically you may want to activate a card with one die, then activate again with another. This is one of the tough decisions that sometimes has to be made: get more movement/activations by combining dice or break them up for tactical reasons like you outlined.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Salch
United States
Bristol
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
banaan666 wrote:
Regarding the smooth motion. You are allowed to exchange cogs for dice at the little factories along the way when you move 3 spaces from a single activation.


I'm pretty sure this was changed so that you had to stop on the spot not just move past.

Ah yes in the errata.


Here
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Taylor
United Kingdom
FARINGDON
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
costguy wrote:
banaan666 wrote:
Regarding the smooth motion. You are allowed to exchange cogs for dice at the little factories along the way when you move 3 spaces from a single activation.


I'm pretty sure this was changed so that you had to stop on the spot not just move past.

Ah yes in the errata.


Here


To be fair though. This was not a clarification of the original rules, but a complete reversal. They also state you can use the original rules!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.