Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Clank!: A Deck-Building Adventure» Forums » Rules

Subject: Picking Minor secrets rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Odyzeus Longbow
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When a player reaches an area with two minor secrets, does he randomly choose one or get to look at both before picking?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dreux Barbier
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
random, no looking!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Hendee
United States
Frisco
Texas
flag msg tools
I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Whenever you become anxious or stressed, outer purpose has taken over, and you have lost sight of your inner purpose. Your state of consciousness is primary. All else is secondary.
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
cajuntechie wrote:
random, no looking!


That is how we "all" play it, but the rules don't say.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonner Purinton
United States
Long Beach
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The secrets were placed in a random fashion. Might as well allow a player to pick at random.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H Seijuro
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Huh, must've glanced over it in the rules. We stack the minor secrets and always end up taking the upper one and then the one that's left. Certainly no comparing! I can see how the idea of having the choice between the two can appeal more to some people. It's all the same to me...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Odyzeus Longbow
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I didnt see anything in the rules so we played with no looking.
I wondered if its part of a first player's advantage.
Some games have it , like Kanban automotive revolution.
Of course you cant circle back and take the other in Kanban..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Michael Hickey
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty sure that the rules say that you can look at both items and choose one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Hendee
United States
Frisco
Texas
flag msg tools
I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Whenever you become anxious or stressed, outer purpose has taken over, and you have lost sight of your inner purpose. Your state of consciousness is primary. All else is secondary.
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Steve99 wrote:
I'm pretty sure that the rules say that you can look at both items and choose one.

The designer says you may not look.
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/25990362#25990362

Rules say:
"When you move into a room, you can take one of the tokens
there (Minor Secret, Major Secret, Monkey Idol, or Artifact)
and put it in front of you."
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Michael Hickey
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PeterHendee wrote:
Steve99 wrote:
I'm pretty sure that the rules say that you can look at both items and choose one.

The designer says you may not look.
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/25990362#25990362

Rules say:
"When you move into a room, you can take one of the tokens
there (Minor Secret, Major Secret, Monkey Idol, or Artifact)
and put it in front of you."


Wow, I believe that there was another post that indicated that you could look, so I've been playing it wrong for a few games.

I'm pleased you can't look. I have to say that it never felt right to me that you could pick and choose in a discovery adventure.

Now that raises another question: it is optional whether you pick up a token or not but is it still optional after you have looked at it? I am thinking mainly if you can avoid taking a dragon egg.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Rathgeb
Germany
Erbach
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Steve99 wrote:
PeterHendee wrote:
Steve99 wrote:
I'm pretty sure that the rules say that you can look at both items and choose one.

The designer says you may not look.
https://boardgamegeek.com/article/25990362#25990362

Rules say:
"When you move into a room, you can take one of the tokens
there (Minor Secret, Major Secret, Monkey Idol, or Artifact)
and put it in front of you."


Wow, I believe that there was another post that indicated that you could look, so I've been playing it wrong for a few games.

I'm pleased you can't look. I have to say that it never felt right to me that you could pick and choose in a discovery adventure.

Now that raises another question: it is optional whether you pick up a token or not but is it still optional after you have looked at it? I am thinking mainly if you can avoid taking a dragon egg.



You can look at a token when you took it - so: you already have it and keep it
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.