Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Kingdom Death: Monster» Forums » Rules

Subject: Butcher Level 3 Mechanics [spoiler] rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Kester
United States
Johnston
Iowa
flag msg tools
His invincible trait reads:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
When the Butcher is wounded, roll 1d10. On a result of 6+, the wound roll fails.


Assuming you would normally wound...
1. How does Devastating 1 work?
2. On a fail, do you trigger Failure reactions instead of Wound reactions?
3. On a fail, if you have something that lets you reroll misses
Spoiler (click to reveal)
axe specialization
, can you try again?
4. On a fail, if you had hit the one crit location, do you not get the crit benefits?
5. How does this interact with other effects which cause a wound (like the counterweighted axe)?

My thought is that if you roll an 8 to wound and roll a 3 vs. invincible, that the 8 is generally treated as a 1. So then:
1. You get either 2 wounds or 0
2. Yes, trigger Failure
3. Yes, can try again
4. Yes, no crit effect
5. ???
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Italic Font
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I prodded fen for this:

1. If it's triggered then the entire thing is cancelled as you failed the wound roll

2. Yes, the wound roll has failed so it will trigger the failure

3. The wound roll has failed, so that will trigger and you can try to wound again, but Invincible gets another go also.

4. The wound has failed, crits do not cancel the trait and will not happen.

5. He groaned at this one; he's of the opinion that this is not actually a wound roll so it can't fail. Acid-Tooth Daggers; which cause automatic successful wound roll would fail; but the counterweight axe causes the Butcher to suffer one wound on a perfect hit, there is no wound roll here to fail - so it doesn't matter that Invincible causes the roll to fail.

However, he did grumble that it's a borderline case where the rules are not clear and you could rule of death that the wound would fail, even though that is not strictly RAW.

He then started muttering that he hopes the two Zach's can tighten up the rules for the future expansions and get consistency into the wording used.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kester
United States
Johnston
Iowa
flag msg tools
Thanks, Italics. I appreciate a bit of your time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.