Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Tau Ceti: Planetary Crisis» Forums » Rules

Subject: Crisis on planet question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Justin Allmon
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I understand how a crisis gets on a planet. I am unclear as to how a) to determine, if a resource cube is present, that resource cube is removed if a crisis occurs on my planet and B) the enduring effect of a crisis other than on the TCX (I was confused as to whether I lose a cube each cycle the crisis stays on my planet or just the initial one cube loss and the TCX are the only 2 repercussions ).

Again, love the game. Can't wait to get the rules down and get some people also playing it with me!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Justin,

You're absolutely right, you lose a cube on the planet when a crisis appears and the crisis will affect the TCX, until resolved.

Cheers,
Joe
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Brown
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Professor wrote:
Justin,

You're absolutely right, you lose a cube on the planet when a crisis appears and the crisis will affect the TCX, until resolved.

Cheers,
Joe

So you only lose a cube when the crisis appears and not each round that it's unresolved?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jason,

Yes, only once when they appear, otherwise it would be far too brutal.

Cheers,
Joe
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Vail
United States
Brownsburg
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also can a planet have more than one Crisis? I have found in a two player game it happens quite often seeing that each player has 5 cubes in the bag and the others have only 2.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tim,

Absolutely...you're discovering one of the strategies.

Cheers,
Joe
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trueflight Silverwing
United States
Waverly
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's also worth noting that there is technically a 3rd repercussion for Crisis on planets that is often overlooked. If there is ever a crisis on every home world at the same time, all players lose the game.

Have to keep an eye out and try to resolve some of them even if they are not bothering you at the moment as they will start piling up and might cause the end for everyone if not kept in check.
3 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
rob taylor
England
bingley
West Yorkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So when a crisis is resolved , the demand on the token is lowered by 1 step?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rob,

That is correct...that's part of the push-and-pull in the game.

Cheers,
Joe
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
rob taylor
England
bingley
West Yorkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks joe, just my Altauri questions on another post to go and then I'm good to teach it tonight.
I think lolol
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rob,

You're very welcome! I'll take a look at the other Altauri question and let you know the answer. On that one, I want to confer with Mike as that's one of the original ideas which I didn't edit in any way, so I too want to be crystal clear in my response.

Cheers,
Joe
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Heald
United Kingdom
Bexhill-On-Sea
east sussex
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you lose a cube to a crisis do you get it back when the crisis is cleared?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Paul,

Sadly, no...it's a penalty from which you do not recover the cube.

Cheers,
Joe
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Heald
United Kingdom
Bexhill-On-Sea
east sussex
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So in this case is it possible to move an existing orbital to a new point (obviously paying the required cost and meeting all other requirements) allowing a cube back from the bag.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Paul,

Under the current (and proposed 2nd edition) rules, once a player builds an Orbital, it remains in-place for the duration of the game, unless destroyed by another player. If that occurs, the player may certainly build it again elsewhere.

Cheers,
Joe
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.