Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Xia: Embers of a Forsaken Star» Forums » Rules

Subject: Trading at Kei Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Rush
United Kingdom
Port Talbot
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Couldn't find this question , apologize if already asked but is it still possible to trade a resource to any other resource if the economy board is already full of that particular resource.

I know when selling the extra is just placed back into supply but does that count when trading because its not really trading if say 2 cubes going to supply because no room on the board and 2 come off from the board ?

Maybe because its an outlaw trade is doesn't matter...arrrh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gamer D

Monroeville
Pennsylvania
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Tading at Kei Question
It's still trading. Think of it this way thematically - every cube you sell is consumed regardless of what the planet actually does with it. If the planet still has a shortage of its main good that it produces then it uses the consumed product to help manufacture its trade good. But if there is a glut on its trade good and the inventory is already full then there would be no incentive for the planet to make that and it would instead use the goods you sold to do other things like bling out their hover cars and build space coasters, etc. It still gets consumed but not in a useful way in regards to the economic board.

That's also thematically why Loath for instance doesn't add to the economic board when you sell goods there. Every thing you sell is squandered by the pirates, making Cyber enhancements for their space peg legs and putting bitchin trim and low riders on their Scoundrel ships. Kei does the same thing, they waste the surplus goods you trade them but still pay you for them in trade.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ira Fay
United States
New Haven
CT
flag msg tools
designer
:-)
badge
Fay Games logo
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Tading at Kei Question
I'll double check with Cody on this later, but for now I'll say:

Yes, you can put them on the Economy Board, but then they immediately drain off to the supply. Let's say there's 6 Cyber on the Economy Board, and you have Cyber in your hold. You place the Cyber on the Economy Board, it's full, so any excess immediately goes to the supply. You can still get something else in exchange, but you won't be able to take any Cyber off the Economy Board this turn, per the rules on Trade

Embers Rulebook, Page 3, Economy Section wrote:
Trade: The planet Kei has a special space that allows you to trade cubes. To Trade, place any number of cubes in your hold onto the Economy Board, then take an equal number of cubes from the Economy Board, other than types you placed this turn. (e.g. if you placed Cyber onto the Economy Board this turn, you cannot take any Cyber this turn.) If you place cubes that are in Demand, you also gain the 1,000% reward.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.