Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster Movement and Negative Hexes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
England
flag msg tools
Quick question on this one.

In this theoretical setup, where o=obstacle, D=difficult terrain, M=monster and C=character...

------
|o
|oEo
|oEo
|oMo
|oDo
| C
------

If the monster gets at least 2 movement, would it walk away from the character on the clear path around all the obstacles, or use that movement on to the difficult terrain?

Rules as written say they treat all negative hexes as obstacles, and walk through as few as possible (which in this instance would be zero, going the long way round). Even if the enemy had flight it would avoid the negative hexes, right?

I just want to be sure, as this does feel 'wrong', especially if the enemy has an attack, but is what the rules imply.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Artur Biesiadowski
msg tools
It will certainly go on difficult terrain, it is just 2 points of movement instead of 1.

Question should be rather about hazardous terrain. From what I understand, monster will merrily go on long journey to avoid that small bit of hurt.

Interesting corner case is what to do with difficult terrain in case monster has only 1 move point. Will it stay in place waiting for that move+1 card or start 10-turn long journey around?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Barrett
United States
Davis
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
abies wrote:
...Interesting corner case is what to do with difficult terrain in case monster has only 1 move point. Will it stay in place waiting for that move+1 card or start 10-turn long journey around?


It will stay in place, because moving 1 space further away does not improve its position for the current turn, which is all it cares about.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
England
flag msg tools
Well, I misread that, then. Difficult terrain is not considered to be an obstacle, only traps or hazardous terrain.

"Monsters without the Flying trait consider negative hexes (traps or hazardous terrain) to be obstacles when determining focus and movement unless movement through one of these hexes is the only way they can focus on a target. In this case, they will use the path moving through the smallest number of negative hexes possible to find a focus and suffer any consequences."

Sometimes you just need that outside perspective to smack you upside the head and make you think straight. Thank you.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.