Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Magic Realm» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Elf, can he EVER cast a "IV, Purple" spell? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Dean
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If the elf has a spell book, and has awakened a "IV, Purple" spell therein, what are his options for casting that spell?

The book itself functions as a III chit.

Can the elf get another artifact that functions as a IV chit, then in presence of purple magic, use the IV-chit artifact to cast the awakened spell on the III-chit spell book?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Mitchell
United States
Snyder
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Under the standard magic rules, that 'awakened" spell card can only be cast using the book if it is of the appropriate type. So if the book counts as a type III chit, then it cannot cast the type IV spell. Furthermore, under standard magic, another artifact or spell book found can NOT be used to cast that first books awakened spell. 4.4.6.d An awakened spell card may only be cast by the artifact or book that contains it, and if that book or artifact is the right type.

Under Enhanced artifacts and spell books, the Elf could certainly Learn that spell, if he has another artifact or spell book of the correct type. He could learn and record ( also counts towards victory points) and cast it using another book or artifact of the appropriate type. These enhanced rules allow the book or artifact to act exactly like a normal magic chit ( with a time of zero!) cool

In short under standard rules, the chit type of the book or artifact, only may cast the awakened spells cards ( where type is same ) on that very book or artifact... a bit limiting.

Also, in all of these situations the spell must still be fueled by the correct color. Whether from day of the week, enchanted chit of the right type ( IV for purple), enchanted map tile, or enchanted item,or dwelling like the chapel ( not helping in this case since its white). Again the Enhanced rules allow books and artifacts to be enchanted, since they act exactly like magic chits.

-Richard
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.