Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Sword & Sorcery» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dice with the Monster Icon rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jörg Pabst
Germany
Eschborn
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hi,

we played yesterday our first game and we not sure how the dice work.

If you roll the dice and one of the dice shows the monsterface: Is only this single die a fail or the complete cast of dice (all of the dice)?

Best Wishes

Joerg
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Mistiaen
Belgium
Brussels
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty sure it's meant to be only a miss for the die that rolled it. There is a combat example on p. 51 that seems to support this, where the hero rolls two blue dice to defend, and gets a miss on one of them. He then proceeds to use a lightning bolt on the other die.
I agree it should be clearer.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel U. Thibault
Canada
Québec
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's always the possibility of the symbol having some special effect (e.g. Rising Pony Tavern, 14.3.2, p. 41) as detailed on an enemy scroll, but by default it just means "miss" (6.2, p. 22). With projectiles, it means the item card is discarded (see 12.3, p. 40).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rezard Vareth
United States
flag msg tools
Just for the die that rolled it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jörg Pabst
Germany
Eschborn
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks a lot for your help
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Skaak
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's worth noting that there is one special case for the gremlin result that isn't specified on the cards: if you roll a Gremlin result while using a projectile item, then the projectile is discarded after the attack (see section 12.3, p. 40).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Franco
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
Skaak wrote:
It's worth noting that there is one special case for the gremlin result that isn't specified on the cards: if you roll a Gremlin result while using a projectile item, then the projectile is discarded after the attack (see section 12.3, p. 40).


I really wish they'd put that information on the projectile cards themselves as a reminder.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Drake
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Oh and the gremlin will totally make you whip yourself. That happens to us more frequently than seems statistically likely.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.