Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Sovereign Of The Seas» Forums » Rules

Subject: Disabled, Demobilized and New Ships rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael H
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just starting to play this game and have a few rules questions:
Ships can only move as part of a squadron. What happens to individual ships that are disabled during a round of combat and the battle will continue for another round of combat? The same question applies to when disabled ships within a squadron are required to return to a particular nearby port while the balance of the squadron’s ship return to a different port?
During the Forces Phase can a ship be demobilized in any port including neutral? Can newly picked ships for the Base and New Forces be placed in any port owned by a nation? Is there limits to how many of the new ships can be placed in a port?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
stephen newberg
Canada
ladysmith
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
For disabled ships, please read 7.31, starting with the sentence that begins "If the result is a 5...". A ship that is returned to a port stays in that port until the next turn, when it can shift around during the Forces phase, its disabled condition having been removed at the end of the previous turn. As 9.1 does not have a distance restriction, yes, this can have disable ships forced to return to a port other than the one the rest of the squadron returns to at the end of the turn.

On your questions about the Forces Phase, yes and yes. Please read rule 6.21. The only limit on the number of ships for a port is produced by the limit on the number of squadrons for the port.

Remember, you are reflecting the actions of an entire year in each turn.

smn
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael H
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Stephen,

Thanks for the clarifications. If I understand your explanation for rule 6.21 during the the Reorganization segment of the Force Phase France could place, for example, most of their ships from other ports (French owned and neutral) to the eastern part of the world ie Mauritius. France's only requirement during Reorganization is to have a squadron marker in Brest and Toulon which actually could be empty squadrons. Is that correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
stephen newberg
Canada
ladysmith
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
If you have a squadron there, certainly.

smn
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael H
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Stephen,
Point of clarification, when ships are demobilized to get a country's forces at or below base level those ships are immediately placed in the country's force pool and may be immediately drawn to fill up the base level and/or come in as new forces. Thus it would be possible for a damaged ship in port be demobilized into a country's force pool and could be immediately randomly drawn from the force pool undamaged and placed back in the same port. It would seem to be tactical option for players.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
stephen newberg
Canada
ladysmith
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Sorry for the slow replay on this one, I missed it. Yes, that could happen. If possible, drawing down damaged ships is certainly the way to go, and considering each turn represents the activities of an entire year, it fits the paradigm pretty well.

smn
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.