Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Time of Crisis» Forums » Rules

Subject: Three questions about Place Governor action rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Francis K. Lalumiere
Canada
Brossard
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Can you really attempt to replace a governor with one of your own *anywhere* on the map? Somehow we felt there was some military presence needed, but the rules don't support that assumption.

2. What happens to enemy armies in a province that gets its governor replaced?

3. What happens to an enemy army in the capital in such a case?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffan O'Sullivan
United States
Plymouth
NH
flag msg tools
"To be honorable and just is our only defense against men without honor or justice." -Diogenes of Sinope
badge
I simply walk into Mordor.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Yes. The senate awards you the governorship. Distance is irrelevant.

2. Nothing.

3. Nothing (edit, thanks to JR: but remove any militia that is there).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. R. Tracy
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
weishaupt wrote:

3. What happens to an enemy army in the capital in such a case?


Agreed with Steffan except to add that a Militia unit will be removed on change of Governors.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francis K. Lalumiere
Canada
Brossard
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sos1 wrote:
1. Yes. The senate awards you the governorship. Distance is irrelevant.


Ooooooh. So THIS is why we often found ourselves unable to do anything with "leftover blue points."
Looking forward to the next game even more.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wray Ferrell
United States
Cary
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
weishaupt wrote:
1. Can you really attempt to replace a governor with one of your own *anywhere* on the map? Somehow we felt there was some military presence needed, but the rules don't support that assumption.

2. What happens to enemy armies in a province that gets its governor replaced?

3. What happens to an enemy army in the capital in such a case?


Steffan's answers are right as is JRs addendum.

Military presence helps by reducing the number of votes needed to replace the governor *if* those units are in the capital. So a 3 support Governor (normally needs 6 votes) can be replaced with 2 votes if you have a four legion army in the capital (as those four units subtract four from the number of votes needed). Plus the presence of an enemy army in the capital reduces your support level by one at the end of your turn.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Noakes
United Kingdom
Redhill
Surrey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I found that throwing leftover blue points at an unpopular enemy governor was a good way to have the province revert to neutral: your governor would step in at a support level of 1, but the enemy's armies in the capital would drop that to zero. Sure, you didn't get to keep the province, but life's more difficult now for the other player...
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. R. Tracy
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
weishaupt wrote:

Ooooooh. So THIS is why we often found ourselves unable to do anything with "leftover blue points."
Looking forward to the next game even more.


If you have a governor in the ready rack, there's no reason not to try a Hail Mary with your leftover blue points. Even just one point has a shot thanks to 'exploding' sixes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Cinzori
United States
Holland
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Do you need to have a governor available to do the Replace Governor action, or can you do it without an available governor in hopes of placing a neutral governor?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wray Ferrell
United States
Cary
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
WonderCinz wrote:
Do you need to have a governor available to do the Replace Governor action, or can you do it without an available governor in hopes of placing a neutral governor?


No, the 2nd bullet at the top of page 6 says to replace the former Governor with a Governor from your Available Leaders box. If you don't have a Governor, but want to do a Place Governor action you will need to do the Recall Governor action first.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Johnson
United States
Crystal Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wray wrote:
If you don't have a Governor, but want to do a Place Governor action you will need to do the Recall Governor action first.

Or Recruit Governor, assuming you still have one to buy.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Hall
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
WonderCinz wrote:
Do you need to have a governor available to do the Replace Governor action, or can you do it without an available governor in hopes of placing a neutral governor?


See the Errata. You do have to have a Governor available to attempt the Replace governor action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.