Peter D
United Kingdom
london
UK
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I keep my food and replace the harvest food requirement with grain?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan
United States
Wisconsin Rapids
WI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. If you're ever able to pay the primary resource, you must pay the primary resource.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Pressler
United States
West Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
OMG! Overtext! How long have I been sleeping?! OVERTEXT! Also, I'm a DESIGNER now?! Sweet! OVERTEXXXXXXT!
badge
HO HO HO! Give me some money!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No.

Admittedly, the description of Sustenance at the end of each half year is not clear about this, but refer to the related rule for similar action spaces, 3rd bullet on page 13:

"An expression like “Pay 1 Grain (Flax)” indicates that you have to pay 1 Grain. Only when you have no Grain may you pay 1 Flax instead."
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Smith
msg tools
mb
The only resources interchangeable without a scarcity are wood <-> timber and clay <-> brick.

Unless, of course, an action or building says otherwise.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.