Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Washington's War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Come aboard General, before they getcha! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eddy del Rio
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gen Howe and 1CU in Port space [Barnstable, MA] was attacked and defeated by Washington and 5CUs [from Boston, MA]. Can Gen Howe retreat to another port space without any CUs, or is he captured?

9.62 British Retreat By Sea: "A defending British General and any surviving CUs that lose a battle in a port space..."

But what if there were no "surviving CUs"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Any" includes none. Howe retreats alone.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddy del Rio
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dirubin wrote:
"Any" includes none. Howe retreats alone.

"any SURVIVING CUs" includes no surviving CUs?

"A defending British General and any surviving CUs" = an Army.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can have my answer and any money others may wish to send you. If you receive no money, you'll still have my answer.

(Note that the designer thumbed my answer, so you may rely on it.)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Gant
United States
Wakefield
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What Dave said.

Logically the words "any surviving" does handle the case of "none surviving". Logically correct interpretation by Dave.

--JokerRulez
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddy del Rio
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dirubin wrote:
You can have my answer and any money others may wish to send you. If you receive no money, you'll still have my answer.

(Note that the designer thumbed my answer, so you may rely on it.)

Thank you for pointing that out. Case closed! I appreciate your responses.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.