Hide
6 Posts

Citadels» Forums » Rules

Subject: Old vs New version of 2 player role selection rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Vartanian
msg tools
Hi, I'm just starting out with the original version of Citadels and playing with 2 players. I noticed that the original version allows players to select from all available roles (minus first discarded one) before passing while the new version instructs to choose 2 roles at random and select one to keep, then pass the rest. These are different and I'm wondering if I should play the original game with the new role selection method, or keep the original method. Thanks!

Matt
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vic R
Spain
Tomares (Seville)
flag msg tools
badge
Pure mathematics is the world's best game. It is more absorbing than chess, more of a gamble than poker, and lasts longer than Monopoly. It's free. It can be played anywhere - Archimedes did it in a bathtub
mbmbmbmbmb
New version is better. In old version your opponent have a 1 on 2 choices to know what you picked (discarded card and the one you picked) that is too easy, especially if by chance the discarded role is a almost useless one (in the game context). With new rule your opponent only have 1 on 3 choance to known what you picked. With 9 cards is the ideal ratio (1 on 3, 1 on 3 1 on 3 and the last one doesnt count as is not passed again)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Interesting change! I know some would be against it since only 1 role per turn makes the game take much longer. OTOH, I wouldn't be opposed as 2p with one role per round is still much less downtime than 4p to 8p.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Which versions are we comparing here?